1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Looking for those with a rooted droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by pc747, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,049
    Likes Received:
    859
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you are on 2.2.20 please hit this thread up, thanks.
  2. imtheconvict
    Offline

    imtheconvict New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya im running 2.2.20 and im rooted why?
  3. Saraph
    Offline

    Saraph New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same. What's up?
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,049
    Likes Received:
    859
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Can you go to root explorer,
    click cache

    and copy the zip file for 2.2.20
  5. spdivr1122
    Offline

    spdivr1122 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    im rooted and put the bootstrap on. ive had my phone on since 10:30 and using it all day with setcpu custom profiles and im at about 40 %. rooting and setcpu made my battery amazing. and on the original post of how to root i followed the steps on page 17 of that forum
  6. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like my post! Post #164

    xda-developers - View Single Post - How to root the Droid 2

    Glad that everyone is finding it useful. If you encounter any problems, please let me know. I am always updating the thread to make more sense.

    - - -

    I also wrote a tutorial on how to use RSD Lite 4.7 and how to flash back to stock (2.2.20.a955) using RootzWiki MotoBomb (.sbf file). You can find that here:

    Tutorial/Walkthrough for flashing an .sbf to Droid 2 (unrooting/factory restore) - xda-developers

    Once again, if you come across any hardships, please let me know.
  7. bossofindy
    Offline

    bossofindy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Waiting on 1 click method don't like adb
  8. Intrik
    Offline

    Intrik New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So in order to get the 2.2 update I need to un-root by following your un-rooting tutorial, then re-root by following the directions with the Kirbys (>'.')> by them, correct?
  9. revision
    Offline

    revision Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Cache shows empty for me. Viewing from Astro, should i use something else?

    **edit**
    Also went and looked at coworker's d2 rooted and nothing in his cache folder either. I could totally be doing it wrong, just holler.
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  10. mza929
    Offline

    mza929 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im waiting for one button root too.... dont feel confortable on a mac using adb....
  11. darkonion
    Offline

    darkonion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope. Just do the Kirby steps. However, if you remove certain bloatware, and are unable to update, you might need to flash back to stock.

    To further clarify:

    1. Run the update. Go to menu, settings, about phone, system update. And download and install the update.

    2. If your update works, it works. Your new system version should be 2.2.20.a955 or something. If you update fails, you need to find out why. My update failed because I have missing apps. More specically Mynet.apk (or 3G Wifi Hotspot). I was unable to reinstall that.

    Or for some other reason why you can't update. If that's the case, you might need to flash the phone back to stock.
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010