Looking for the old 'how to'

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by teddyearp, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Hey sniffle, I looked at the alldroid archives and couldn't find your very nicely compiled thread about how to compile a rom from scratch.

    Any chance you had saved that text somewhere?

    TIA.
     
  2. obededom

    obededom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. sniffle

    sniffle Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    android.cvpcs.org

    i converted everything to wiki, it's easier to mainrtain
     
  4. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Thanks sniffle. Nice work, I have yet to try your rom, waiting until you get the wifi issues ironed out for your froyo build. The other link also comes in handy since I am running Ubuntu 8.0.4 and your original guide was based on that distro. So as far as I know I'm running a make on the froyo source right now.

    thx.
     
  5. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    OK, just a quick question. I got through with the 'download source' portion ok and ran the 'make' command once. It came up with a few warnings, and I did find a thread of yours (sniffle) in the alldroid archives that said you ran the 'make' command again so it would only print the errors. I did that, but all it did was show the info (2.2, etc.) and installed Mms.apk. So I guess that means I have a good generic build?

    I've got more questions, but I'll just see if this gets answered.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  6. sniffle

    sniffle Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would honestly be amazed if the guide worked pulling the froyo source as the vendor setup had to be remade...

    Ask away ill always do my best to respond
     
  7. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Well, I did do a couple of things a bit different, i.e. when I did the 'repo' command I did this:
    Code:
    repo init -u git://android.git.kernel.org/platform/manifest.git -b froyo
    And then when I went to varify the git tags, the key block you had produced an error so I used the one from the android source page. Then I did the 'make' command as mentioned and it spit out all kinds of stuff, so after it was done I did what I thought I read you did in one of the archives at alldroid and run it again since I think you did that just to see what errors it would spit out and all it gave me was this:
    Code:
    teddyearp@teddyearp-desktop:~/android/system$ make
    ============================================
    PLATFORM_VERSION_CODENAME=REL
    PLATFORM_VERSION=2.2
    TARGET_PRODUCT=generic
    TARGET_BUILD_VARIANT=eng
    TARGET_SIMULATOR=
    TARGET_BUILD_TYPE=release
    TARGET_BUILD_APPS=
    TARGET_ARCH=arm
    HOST_ARCH=x86
    HOST_OS=linux
    HOST_BUILD_TYPE=release
    BUILD_ID=MASTER
    ============================================
    Install: out/target/product/generic/system/app/Mms.apk
    Now as far as the vendor setup, when I tried to go to ~/android/system/vendor /vendor wasn't there. It's been three months since I was tinkering with this before, I had to replace a motherboard and re-install my systems on this comp but there is a ~/android/system/hardware folder that I'm not sure was part of the eclair branch?

    Am I getting anywhere? Or should I redo the whole thing because of the missing /vendor folder. Or am I going down a road of questions here that I should pursue elsewhere?

    TIA.
     
  8. sniffle

    sniffle Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's just it with the release of froyo, the vendor folder is no more.

    This coming week, time providing... I'm going to rewrite the guide for froyo...

    The guide itself will be ubuntu version inspecific, making notations where necessary (java5 installation)

    Give me a little while :) ill give you something you can actually follow
     
  9. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Thanks again. I see in koush's github he is adding a /device/motorola_sholes branch, I don't think droidmod has gotten that far yet in their gerrit, but anyways . . .

    You didn't quite answer my question, did I have a successful sync/make? And is eclipse ABSOLUTELY required for rom building?
     
  10. sniffle

    sniffle Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looked like you synced correctly

    If you ran make and it completed after running for a long time and went back to command prompt yes you successfully compiled android. But it is non phone specific so it is not flashable on a device.
     
  11. Koveleski

    Koveleski Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Ratings:
    +1
    Completely looking forward to this.
     
  12. sniffle

    sniffle Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    i forgot to answer about eclipse...

    no it is not absolutely necessary for Eclipse to be used, google provides an eclipse plugin for android, and that is how google codes for android.

    i usually use a text editor when modifying code.