Looking for easy way to find WiFi ON/OFF switch

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by KCav, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. KCav
    Offline

    KCav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wanted to surf the web and I couldn't figure out how to turn WiFi on. I remember shutting it off to save the battery, but I could not find the bar that turns on/off: WiFi, BT, Sound, Brightness. Where does it hide? I went to the Main Menu, scrollled left, then back to Main menu, scrolled right. I did not see it. I started touch this and that; sudenly it appeared. Is there an easy way of finding it?

    KC
  2. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    use the power control widget? easy as can be...
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    i use power control or beautiful widgets - the beautiful widget is a 1x1 thats just an on/off switch
  5. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I downloaded quick settings from the market. It controls ringer, bluetooth, brightness, gps, wifi...etc...
  6. SinCitySRT4
    Offline

    SinCitySRT4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i never knew about quick settings. thanks for that one
  7. wernst
    Offline

    wernst New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use Quick Profiles (which is a very handy and free app to make lots of settings changes all at once - like making everything loud in your car, everything quiet for work, and medium loudness for normal situations), you can make a profile that just turns Wifi On, Wifi Off, or just toggle the current Wifi State.

    Very handy for lots of reasons, but for the wifi radio too.

    -Warr
  8. Brokn68
    Offline

    Brokn68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 Can't get much easier than that :)
  9. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    You don't have to turn on Wifi to surf the web......though it will typically be faster than the 3G data service.
  10. KCav
    Offline

    KCav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you download Quick Settings? I typed Quick Settings into Google - found the wbsite; Registered/ Activated /Logged on/ Searched for Quuick Settings and found it. But I couldn't download the Quick Settings; feel stupid; what do I need to clickon?

    KC
  11. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    There should be an icon in your app drawer that looks like a yellow gear that is labeled quick settings. I keep it on my home page. Click on the icon and you will get a list of things you can turn on and off. It also tells you the battery % and has a flashlight button in there
  12. KCav
    Offline

    KCav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where's the Power Widget?

    Clicked Home button
    Pushed gray rectangle upward
    Looked for Power Widget ...... none there.
    How can it be I don't have Power Widget

    kc
  13. Cyrus6001
    Offline

    Cyrus6001 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    You have to long press on an empty space on a home screen, select widgets, then select the power control widget. then find soemwhere on a home screen to place it and then ur good to go
  14. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Also make sure you have enough room. It takes up 1 whole row of space.
  15. Detonation
    Offline

    Detonation New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It amazes me how many people don't know about the power control widget and look to download an apps for it instead.
  16. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My business partner just saw it on my phone yesterday and asked where I got it from. We got our Droids on opening day back in November!
  17. Summersond
    Offline

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its a free app in the marketplace on your Droid. I just installed it and love it!
  18. Summersond
    Offline

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason, I tried to load that widget and it says desktop full (which isn't) so I went this way.
  19. liddster
    Offline

    liddster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    You have to have a complete 1 X 4 spot free... How many icons do you have on the screen right now?? I personally have the widget set up on the screen scrolling to the left at the top... and still have room for 3 rows of icons...
  20. Summersond
    Offline

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks!

    Thanks! After I posted, I did a bit more reading to find out that I did need a full empty row. Once I opened up a row, it installed fine. I hope the new release adds more home pages, as I now am out of room. :) BTW, what is the icon that looks like a refresh icon on the widget (next to last on right of widget)?

    Thanks!
    Dave
Search tags for this page
android quick power off wifi
,
android quick wifi switch
,
android quick wifi switcher
,

android turn on wifi easy quick

,
android wifi turn on quickly
,
easy way to turn off wif ipad
,

easy way to turn on wifi on ipad

,
easy wifi on/off switch
,
fast turn on wifi android
,

ipad easy wifi switch

,
quick wifi on off android
,
wifi on off switch android