1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Looking for easy way to find WiFi ON/OFF switch

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by KCav, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. KCav
    Offline

    KCav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wanted to surf the web and I couldn't figure out how to turn WiFi on. I remember shutting it off to save the battery, but I could not find the bar that turns on/off: WiFi, BT, Sound, Brightness. Where does it hide? I went to the Main Menu, scrollled left, then back to Main menu, scrolled right. I did not see it. I started touch this and that; sudenly it appeared. Is there an easy way of finding it?

    KC
  2. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    use the power control widget? easy as can be...
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    i use power control or beautiful widgets - the beautiful widget is a 1x1 thats just an on/off switch
  5. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I downloaded quick settings from the market. It controls ringer, bluetooth, brightness, gps, wifi...etc...
  6. SinCitySRT4
    Offline

    SinCitySRT4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i never knew about quick settings. thanks for that one
  7. wernst
    Offline

    wernst New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use Quick Profiles (which is a very handy and free app to make lots of settings changes all at once - like making everything loud in your car, everything quiet for work, and medium loudness for normal situations), you can make a profile that just turns Wifi On, Wifi Off, or just toggle the current Wifi State.

    Very handy for lots of reasons, but for the wifi radio too.

    -Warr
  8. Brokn68
    Offline

    Brokn68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 Can't get much easier than that :)
  9. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    You don't have to turn on Wifi to surf the web......though it will typically be faster than the 3G data service.
  10. KCav
    Offline

    KCav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you download Quick Settings? I typed Quick Settings into Google - found the wbsite; Registered/ Activated /Logged on/ Searched for Quuick Settings and found it. But I couldn't download the Quick Settings; feel stupid; what do I need to clickon?

    KC
  11. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    There should be an icon in your app drawer that looks like a yellow gear that is labeled quick settings. I keep it on my home page. Click on the icon and you will get a list of things you can turn on and off. It also tells you the battery % and has a flashlight button in there
  12. KCav
    Offline

    KCav New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where's the Power Widget?

    Clicked Home button
    Pushed gray rectangle upward
    Looked for Power Widget ...... none there.
    How can it be I don't have Power Widget

    kc
  13. Cyrus6001
    Offline

    Cyrus6001 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    You have to long press on an empty space on a home screen, select widgets, then select the power control widget. then find soemwhere on a home screen to place it and then ur good to go
  14. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Also make sure you have enough room. It takes up 1 whole row of space.
  15. Detonation
    Offline

    Detonation New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It amazes me how many people don't know about the power control widget and look to download an apps for it instead.
  16. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My business partner just saw it on my phone yesterday and asked where I got it from. We got our Droids on opening day back in November!
  17. Summersond
    Offline

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its a free app in the marketplace on your Droid. I just installed it and love it!
  18. Summersond
    Offline

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason, I tried to load that widget and it says desktop full (which isn't) so I went this way.
  19. liddster
    Offline

    liddster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    You have to have a complete 1 X 4 spot free... How many icons do you have on the screen right now?? I personally have the widget set up on the screen scrolling to the left at the top... and still have room for 3 rows of icons...
  20. Summersond
    Offline

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks!

    Thanks! After I posted, I did a bit more reading to find out that I did need a full empty row. Once I opened up a row, it installed fine. I hope the new release adds more home pages, as I now am out of room. :) BTW, what is the icon that looks like a refresh icon on the widget (next to last on right of widget)?

    Thanks!
    Dave
Search tags for this page
android quick power off wifi
,
android quick wifi switch
,

android turn on wifi easy quick

,
android wifi turn on quickly
,
easy way to turn off wif ipad
,
easy way to turn off wifi on ipad
,

easy way to turn on wifi on ipad

,
easy way to turn wifi off ipad with an app
,
easy wifi on/off switch
,
fast turn on wifi android
,
how to turn on or off wifi quicklly in android
,

ipad easy wifi switch

,
quick wifi on off android
,
turn on wifi on/off in android quicklly