Looking for a little help!!! :)

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by ibdabigdog, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    Trying to walk my buddy through installing his first ROM...he did everything correct so I think until it's time to Back UP....he just wipes and now he's boot looping...Nandroid doesn't have a restore of course..so now what are his options? Can he install a different ROM on his SD Card and try to load that or will he have to flash an SBF to go back and start again?
  2. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I'm trying to understand, everything was working fine until you went to back up the ROM but now it bootloops? If you can still boot into recovery wipe data/cache and reflash the ROM if it is still on the root of your sd card.
  3. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    No I'm sorry, he didn't back up the stock when he was applying this initial ROM
  4. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Can you boot into recovery still?
  5. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    Yes he can still boot into recovery
  6. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    When you boot back into recovery wipe you data/factory reset and then try reflashing the ROM.
  7. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    We tried that twice with no luck still looping
  8. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You should try another rom. Boot into recovery hooked up to a pc and copy the new rom as update.zip to the sdcard.

    -Droid Does
  9. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    Ok thanks......we tried Chevy's ss4.8.....we'll try Bugless Beast this time
  10. doctordoctor
    Offline

    doctordoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    any luck with the new rom
  11. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Bugless Beast has some very specific installation instructions. Be sure to read carefully.
  12. doctordoctor
    Offline

    doctordoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    try Liquid 1.7 or Project Elite.
  13. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    ok thanks alot for all the help
  14. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    Trying Liquid now
  15. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    still looping :(
  16. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    figured it out guys.....thanks for your help really! Awesome site!!!!
  17. doctordoctor
    Offline

    doctordoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    What was it.... we would like to know so we can all expand our knowledge base
  18. ibdabigdog
    Offline

    ibdabigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown, DE
    He forgot to Format Boot and System.....after he did that it installed smoothly!