Lock screen question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by Sajo, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,304
    Likes Received:
    6,567
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,065
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I'm pretty sure this is a Lollipop thing, but figured I would ask. I have a Turbo, upgraded to 5.1 right out of the box. I have a lock screen pattern enabled. I have all of my BT devices setup as Trusted Devices, and that part works great. Since my LG G watch is connected all day long, I do not have to enter my pattern to unlock the phone...but I still have to swipe up from the bottom to fully unlock it and see my home screen. I have been all through the Settings and have not seen anything to enable or disable this. It's not a big deal, just curious if this is a new "feature" of Lollipop? An added swipe when using a BT Trusted Device? My wife's Moto X has had Lollipop for a while now and I don't remember having to do this extra swipe on her phone. Thanks.
     
  2. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,282
    Likes Received:
    3,148
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,709
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Yea, no way to get rid of the "Notification Shade" at all. None. Zero. Zilch.
    Not without some 3rd party magic.
     
  3. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I was gonna say, I think that's a lollipop thing, but I don't have a turbo. Same issue on my Note 4 though. With a "swipe lock" situation thanks to trusted devices, if I tap on a notification, I still have to swipe to unlock and it opens right to that app. Extra step that shouldn't be needed, but I kinda understand that they probably did it to keep people from accidentally opening notifications they didn't mean to and/or make one more step for phone peepers who have no business checking out my notifications, but it would be nice to tap to open and be done with it.

    I think my Nexus 7 does the same thing most of the time, but I also feel like there are a few apps that don't require the extra swipe. I'll have to try and investigate that further.
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I tried several ways..and i use a g watch too...no way around it..
     
  5. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,282
    Likes Received:
    3,148
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,709
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    OK now that's a little different then. On the Turbo if I double tap a notice on that Shade (as I will call it) it DOES go right to the app, no next swipe needed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Ah. That's more like it is on the Nexus 7 then. I do recall that, but on the Note, when I tap a notification, the square area below that pops up with the "unlock" icon, prompting me to swipe that are to "unlock" the device. Maybe I'm not understanding the swipe thing you Turbo guys are talking about then...
     
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,304
    Likes Received:
    6,567
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,065
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Didn't know that. Thanks! Learned something new today, that makes the new "swipe up feature" a little better knowing I can double tap and open straight to that app. Thanks Pere!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,304
    Likes Received:
    6,567
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,065
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Thanks for the feedback everyone, much appreciated. I kind of figured this was a Lollipop "feature". It's not a big deal, just wanted to make sure that I was not missing a setting somewhere.
     
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Now I'm even more confused. My feed reader app's notifications require one tap to unlock and take me into the app on my Note 4. Seems to be no real rhyme or reason to which ones require the extra step.
     
  10. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,304
    Likes Received:
    6,567
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,065
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    What? Google confusing us with different options that do different hings? Never! :)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  11. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,282
    Likes Received:
    3,148
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,709
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    OK so without a Smart Lock on, if you choose "Power Button goes to Lock screen" it bypasses the Shade. *Confirmed*

    As soon as you add a Trusted Device or Place, it turns on.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
    #11 PereDroid, Aug 10, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,304
    Likes Received:
    6,567
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,065
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    So...I guess uncle Google decided that if we want to use BT trusted devices we need an extra swipe to see the home screen?

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk