1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Lock screen issue since ICS update.

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by Scott0719, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since ICS whenever I select a text or email from the notification screen it wants me to enter my lock pattern even when the lock screen is off. I use the No Lock app to turn off my lock screen easier. I've tried using a different app it doesn't seem to matter. I've tried different lock screens and I believe it does it for all the lock screens except the slide lock.

    Anyone have any suggestions to fix this? Right now I clear the notification and go to the texts or whatever through the icon or app on the home screen but thats annoying something. So if anyone has this problem or has fixed this problem please let me know. thanks.
  2. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Have the same issue, I just put the Gmail widget up and go there to open it up. Or if I forget power off and power back on (double click) and no pattern. But I would like to cure it once and for all too.
  3. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before the update went over the air did you try and install it manually a week early? I did so i'm wondering if that might have something to do with it.
  4. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I let ice cream sandwich ooze into my phone naturally.
  5. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If you put the lock to engage 30 minute after sleep at least it gives you 30 without a PIN, of course you still have to enter it the first time.
  6. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But that wouldn't effect my issue. Even when I turn off the lock screen it asks for it when I select something from the notification bar.

    I wouldn't want to let it wait that long anyways. I have it set to two minutes I think.

    It doesn't make any sense to have to enter the patter in the notification bar anyways.
  7. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Absolutely agree, I haven't found a work around. Just annoying.
  8. ManWonder
    Offline

    ManWonder New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has been quite annoying!
  9. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone say if this is a known issue or is it just a few of us experiencing it? I'm actually a little suprised more people haven't commented on this. Maybe i'll go try the motorola forums as well.

    Another thing my phone is doing now is sometimes when I turn the screen back on it brings up the sliding lock screen even though I have pattern selected.
  10. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I asked this in the motorola forums and the guy said it was because of the no lock widget I use and he was right. It doesn't make sense to me that it would make it so when you select something in the notification bar and ask you for the password or pattern but it did. I deleted that widget and it works like it should.

    So for everyone else having this issue disable a app or widget that can turn the lock screen on and off and it should resolve the problem.
  11. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Aah, I thought you wanted to retain a lock widget, in your OP you stated you tried different apps. I like my lock so I can double tap to lock my phone, but usually it just sits around unlocked. Yeah I removed my No Lock app and reinstalled it right after ICS and knew that was the cause but tried unsuccessfully to find a cure with it on my phone.

    Glad your happy.
  12. Scott0719
    Offline

    Scott0719 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you currently use a lock widget with out the problem I described? I tried the auto lock from widgetzoid but that gave me the same problem.
  13. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I still have no lock, still have to "PIN" to access once I pull down the notification bar. But got my Gmail and text widgets on the home screen so I don't have to pull. Still do it quite a bit out of habit though, then I just double tap the power button.
  14. Mog
    Offline

    Mog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi - I am confused. I used to use a lock screen delayer but thought that with ICS I would not need it. Upgraded today and find that if I set a delayed pattern lock screen then if I switch off and straight back on I have the normal swipe screen where I thought I should just have an open screen. If I set the lock to None then there is no swipe screen. So why when I have chosen to have a patern lock but delayed it, should there also be a swipe lock (which lock nothing but does get in the way).

    Is this the way it is designed to work? Is there anything I can do to get rid of the swipe screen and still keep a delayed pattern or PIN lock?
Search tags for this page

android ics lock screen not working

,

android ics lockscreen bug

,

android no lock screen problem

,

droid bionic ics lockscreen issues

,

droid lock screen notification for ics

,

galaxy s3 lock screens with maggot

,

how to fix ics lock s reen

,

ics lockscreen bug

,

ics screen lock error

,

ics screen problem

,

lock screen notifications for ics