Location Not Right

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Fahrenheit, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. Fahrenheit

    Fahrenheit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I do a search and get locations it keeps giving me stuff on the west coast but I live on the east coast. I click location and tell it to use currant but nothing changes and before you ask yes my GPS is on. How can i fix this?
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Are you outside?
     
  3. Fahrenheit

    Fahrenheit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Inside or outside doesn't work.
     
  4. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Are you stock or running a custom rom?
     
  5. Fahrenheit

    Fahrenheit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm stock.
     
  6. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    download GPS Test from the market and see if that picks up any sat info....
     
  7. Fahrenheit

    Fahrenheit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just downloaded and it's working. Hope i can figure this out :( If i manually type in an end address ill get turn by turn but its the searching for something that i cant do
     
  8. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    So it seems to be an app issue....
    Is your maps up to date?
     
  9. Fahrenheit

    Fahrenheit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I tell if its up to date? Sorry I'm not to good with this and thanks for your help so far.
     
  10. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    go to your market app, open it, then menu>>Downloads scroll to see it Maps has an update available.
     
  11. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go into the market and press the menu button>Downloads
     
  12. thelion

    thelion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google does this to me all the time.

    If I got to Google and search, say, "pizza hut" and hit "local" I get Seattle contacts.

    I don't live in Seattle. I live about 500 miles from Seattle. I don't think they'll deliver.

    I have to manually put in my zip every time. Drives me nuts.

    BUT if I do voice search on my phone? Pulls up the right ones. It only does this when I type. I have to assume it is a Google issue.
     
  13. kevroc

    kevroc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aren't we in a Droid X forum?? Custom Rom???
     
Search tags for this page

phone location not right