Location is WAAAAY off

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by V8s_are_slow, May 21, 2010.

  1. V8s_are_slow
    Offline

    V8s_are_slow New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    When I open the Maps app, it has my location in Gainesville, Fl. I'm live about 4-5 hours southwest of there. If I click on latitudes to find my g/f's location who also has a Droid, she's in Gainesville too. What the heck???
  2. proof
    Offline

    proof New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't feel bad. I am in Michigan and it once kept telling me I was Salt Lake City, Utah. I had to look out the window just to be sure.
  3. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI
  4. V8s_are_slow
    Offline

    V8s_are_slow New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    Thanks a lot. I'll have to try that.
  5. V8s_are_slow
    Offline

    V8s_are_slow New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    Well, that worked. For about 2 hours. Gps stutus won't recalibrate. Dunno why. Won't give me longitude and latitude.
  6. KJRadz
    Offline

    KJRadz New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  7. V8s_are_slow
    Offline

    V8s_are_slow New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    Sure appreciate the link. That sure cleared up a lot and guess there's a lot of people on that forum from Panama City and all of them having the same problem as me for the same amount of time. Trying to join that forum but it's not letting me for some reason.

    Anyway, I did one of the workarounds and it's working. Question is, will it keep working? Sure hope so. Thanks a lot.
  8. KJRadz
    Offline

    KJRadz New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're welcome. It might help get them off their butts and get it fixed if you added your voice to the mix by opening a ticket with their tech support.
Search tags for this page

v8s are slow droid