1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Loading ROMS

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by c0de3, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. c0de3
    Offline

    c0de3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I have my phone rooted thanks to the how to hack a droid on any os thread. Thanks to MotoCache1 for writing that.

    I'm confused though. It seems like the boot loader that MotoCache1 has you install is a "competing" boot loader to the one used by Rom Manager? Is that the case? If so how do I install another ROM if I want to do that? If I select flash clockworkmod is that going to try and replace teh one MotoCache1's procedure put on? If so, won't it fail? I was thinking he said it cant be changed so the ISP won't overwrite it.

    Bottom line: now that I have root, via the MotoCache1 method... How do I load ROMs without messing up the things I've done to get root.

    not sure if any of this makes sense.. I hope so.
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    :welcome: to the forum!

    Don't use ROM Manager. Go to the custom ROM section here on DF, download the ROMS directly, and install them the same way you installed busybox and super user permissions, aka the update.zip. You'll have far fewer problems than if you run ROM Manager and it starts borking on you.
  3. joeyx2
    Offline

    joeyx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U should flash clockworkmod it will allow u to install roms without having to rename update.zip and put it in root of sd card all the time u just find rom file and install. u can even install it from rom manager app but it does have a tendency to act screwy. Its always a good idea to flash clockworkmod right before u install a rom. I only use rom manager to flash clockworkmod though I always go to recovery to install. If I'm installing diff. Kernel then I will install through rom manager.
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2010
  4. c0de3
    Offline

    c0de3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, perfect. That is what I wanted to know. So I can uninstall romm manager and be done with it?

    And just to be clear, steps to do it how you suggest:
    Download rom on this forum
    Reboot into recovery
    Select install
    Select allow instal update.zip
    Select install update.zip
    Reboot
    ?????? Right? That is from memory so. A few of the menu options may not be worded perfectly...



    Thanks for help!
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's exactly right! SP Recovery (with Androzip) is what I use as well...never one issue! Make sure to make an Advanced Nandroid backup BEFORE you flash anything (even themes and kernels), so you can always flash back to what you had in case you have any issues. And btw, :welcome: to Droid Forums!!!
  6. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Just get rid of RM AFTER you do the following:

    Open rom manager and hit the install alternate recovery (Sprecovery)

    Do it again.
    Do it again.
    Do it again.

    No I'm not kidding. There's some kind of bug that if you don't do this....it will put some droids into a bootloop.


    Anyway, after you have Sprecovery on your droid the first thing you need to do is create a backup. This is a MUST before you do ANYTHING to your droid.
    Here are step by step instructions:

    Boot your phone into recovery. (Power off your phone then slide open your keyboard and hold down on the X then hold the power button until the M logo appears)


    Scroll down to backup/restore – hit the gold key on your physical keyboard

    I prefer doing an Advanced Nandroid backup. Scroll down to Advanced Nandroid backup – hit the gold key.

    You’ll be on “Set backup name” hit the gold key and type in a name (In this case I'd name it Stock root) then hit the return key.

    Scroll to Perform backup and hit the gold key.

    After it says done hit your power button to get back to the main menu. Voila! You now have a backup just in case you jack up your droid :D



    :welcome: to the forum! If you have any more questions, just let us know! :D
  7. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use Clockwork OR SPRecovery - they both accomplish the same goal. Clockwork has way more features that make it desirable to people who install ROMs a lot. On the other hand, SPRecovery hasn't had an update in over 6 months, so it's more "stable" for whatever that's worth.

    I prefer Clockwork because:
    - You can install ANY zip you want. You don't have to keep renaming things to update.zip - you can keep it named by what it actually is and just select it out of a list when you go to install it.
    - Tight integration with ROM Manager means that you can initiate a backup / restore or install from the GUI, and it will automatically reboot into clockwork and do it. Very simple and easy. I like being able to pick a ROM to install and select checkboxes for "Wipe data+cache" or "create a backup first" and have it just work.

    Side note: you do not need to use the paid version of ROM Manager to get benefits. The paid version does the ROM downloading for you, but you can download roms yourself and install them with the free version quite easily.
Similar Threads
  1. gjk
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,099
  2. bds123123
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    716
  3. eyexam
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,887
  4. pb1bicdic
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,485
  5. Handspring92
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    428
Loading...
Search tags for this page
add rom url to load
,

enter the url to load rom

,

enter url to load rom

,
how to add roms by url
,
how to load rom on droid x
,
how to load roms on droid 3
,
load rom url
,
side load a rom