Loaded Rom for First Time (Saphire), QUESTIONS!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by zfly9, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. zfly9
    Offline

    zfly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1) Where are all the common programs like Market and GTalk...

    2) Why isn't it asking for my gmail account?
  2. jev
    Offline

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    "As of 0.8.4, sapphire is no longer including google apps by default, for legal reasons. If you still wish to have the google experience installed, then please download the package below and install it as well."

    Taken from here-http://sapphire.ccroms.net/wiki/releases/sapphire-1.0.0
  3. zfly9
    Offline

    zfly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks and how about loading all my contacts?
  4. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    once you get google apps to load and you sign back into your google account your contacts should pull back over. If they dont, then follow these steps to get them to sync. (I had to do this so that is why I know):

    Go to Settings > Accounts & Sync > click on your gmail account; You will then see:

    Sync Contacts
    Sync Gmail
    Sync Calendar (all with boxes next to them) Make sure all the boxes are checked then hit your menu key and tell it to sync now. This will pull all your contacts over.

    For some reason Sapphire does not have all those boxes checked automatically.
  5. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    all of those boxes have always been checked for me. are you sure they aren't stored in the cloud as part of your "settings"?

    anyways, to the OP:

    wipe
    install sapphire
    install gapps
    reboot and sync
  6. zfly9
    Offline

    zfly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, yeah I shoulda loaded the apps before I asked..
  7. zfly9
    Offline

    zfly9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I did Saphire with a theme that I like... I thought the facebook widget would be black to match... And how about Gtalk, is there a way to make that black?
  8. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you browse through the themes thread you may be able to find themed versions of the the apps you need.
  9. andrew149
    Offline

    andrew149 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u used rom manager you can install the google apps and everything at once! also kernals and new apps