Little Boot Animation Install Help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Aaron636r, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I have to rename the file I have to "bootanimation.zip" before pushing it? Or can it keep the name it has as I downloaded it? Example "decepticon.animation.zip"
     
  2. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can force adb to rename it when you do the push.
    "adb push decepticon.animation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip"
     
  3. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive got some reading still to do I guess to figure this out. Appreciate your help!!
     
  4. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem. I will try to get some tutorials up on droidboots in the next couple of days so that it is clear to everyone.
     
  5. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I know im a nOOb...sorry.

    But what are the steps I take when I first open my terminal on my PC? Ive read and read...but I must not have it in the right order
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  6. p0rk burn

    p0rk burn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you installed the Android SDK?

    The best place to install it is to c:\android.

    Then from command prompt, not "run" do "cd c:\android\tools"
    Make sure you cut/paste the bootanimation to the android\tools folder, then from the command prompt (which should read "c:\android\tools" now) type the adb push line from the above post.

    This should be the proper sequence, I'm going off the type of my head right now.
     
  7. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I installed it in that location. I'm able to click run and type "adb shell" and it brings up the dos prompt. Just a little stuck as to my next step.
     
  8. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    click run and type "cmd" and press enter to bring up the command prompt.
    Then type "cd c:\android\tools" and press enter to get into the android tools directory.
    Then assuming the filename you mentioned earlier is the one you are doing and you have a copy of it in you tools directory.
    Type "adb push decepticon.animation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip" and press enter to get the bootanimation onto your Droid.
     
  9. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is what I get when i do that...
     
  10. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know im a pain in the a$$. Im sorry
     
  11. mammlouk

    mammlouk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have a U: drive?? Crazy! Just type "c:" and press enter. You can do it before or after typing "cd c:\android\tools", but it's probably more intuitive to do it before so that you can see the result as you cd to the tools directory.
     
  12. Aaron636r

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always look for the hard stuff and never see the easy fixes. That was it the whole time. Got it working and all is good.

    I owe you guys!!