1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

List of old electronics the droid is more powerful than

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by streetkid, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. streetkid
    Offline

    streetkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it would be cool to get a list electronics that the Droid is more powerful than. Not necessarily modern electronics. But older ones that would help people gauge the power of this tiny handheld device.

    For example, its more powerful and has more memory than my first desktop, an AMD k6-2 350mhz with 64mb of Ram.

    How does it compare to a ps2? or an xbox1? things like that

    Just a thought, interested to hear what ya'll come up with.
  2. bdbraaten
    Offline

    bdbraaten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Frozen Wasteland that is Minnesota USA
    Certainly more powerful then the first desktop computer we had growing up.

    Specs:
    dual speed (4 or 8 megaherts) 8086 processor
    20 mb hard drive
    256 kb ram
    4 color crt monitor.

    I laugh about that computer looking back, my dad actually claimed "We'll never fill a hard drive that big"
  3. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Damn, I thought you already had a list.

    This will be interesting to see.

    Obviously better than any of the earlier game consoles. Especially the ones it can emulate.
  4. bigthinker
    Offline

    bigthinker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    For sure the Sony Walkman (1986) :motdroidhoriz:
  5. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my first desktop was a 486sx 66MHz, 16mb ram, 200mb hard drive. so................
    it was kick ass though
  6. Ghostwheel
    Offline

    Ghostwheel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Given that my first hardware consisted of an Apple ][e and an Atari VCS (before it was renamed 2600), I'm not surprised the Droid's specs kick their butts. Heck, I think even my old RAZR did.
  7. gruve
    Offline

    gruve New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Mine was Apple IIc, first PC was 486DX 33mhz.
  8. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Radio shack TRS80 (Didnt own it)

    Hell, just a plain old 8088 processor would be knocked around by the Droid ...
  9. jkayner
    Offline

    jkayner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PS2 specs:

    CPU: 128-bit[3][4] "Emotion Engine" clocked at 294.912 MHz (299 MHz on newer versions), 10.5 million transistors
    original Xbox:
    CPU Custom 733 MHz Intel Pentium III "Coppermine-based" processor Storage capacity 8 or 10 GB internal Hard Drive (both formatted to 8 GB), 8 MB memory card Memory 64 MB of DDR SDRAM @ 200 MHz

    dreamcast:
    CPU 200 MHz Hitachi SH4 RISC Storage capacity VMU, Nexus Memory Card, Zip Drive (unreleased) Graphics 100 MHz PowerVR2 CLX2
    nintendo 64
    CPU 93.75 MHz NEC VR4300 Storage capacity Cartridge battery, Controller Pak Graphics 62.5 MHz SGI RCP
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  10. FoFa
    Offline

    FoFa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I had a sinclair ZX-81, then upgraded to a TI-99
    First PC was an xt with dual floppy drives (5 1/4's)
    First PC with non-removable storage was a 286, 640K of ram, 40 MB HD and DOS 4.0.1 (the newest version), cost $1700 new.
  11. PhiliBusteR
    Offline

    PhiliBusteR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Commodore Amiga
  12. Sarreq Teryx
    Offline

    Sarreq Teryx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in oder of usage
    apple ][
    commodore 64
    sega master system
    atari 2600
    nintendo entertainment system
    headstart 8088xt w/ 640kB ram and 2 5.25" floppy drives
    super nes
    ti-86a
    sega genesis
    sega gamegear
    quantum 486sx 33mhz w/ 16mB ram and 250mB hard drive
    dell pentium1 133mhz w/ 32mB ram and 500mB hd
    frankenputer cyrix 5x86 166+ w/ 64mB ram and 500mB hd
    playstation1
    ibm 8086 w/ 2mB ram and 16mB hd
    frankenputer amd athlon 400mhz w/ 256mB ram and 20gB hd
    intellivision
    sega saturn
    creative zen touch
    gameboy advance
    n64

    ...I think that's it, but I'm probably missing a few things
  13. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    i have a dinosaur of a HP sitting on a desk at the house.. we don't use it, it's just sitting there. specs:
    windows 98 SE
    128mb RAM @ 100mhz synchronous
    20gb HDD
    and an Intel Pentium III, 32kb cache (which i think roughly equates to "slow", by most accounts.)
    i think 13" screen, the bubble kind, about the size of the first iMac.. i often ponder how difficult it would be to transform into a fish tank...
    top-of-the-line CD burner! 4X write speed (eeps!)
    polk audio (that attached to the sides of the monitor)
    2 UBS ports

    you guys are jealous.

    i also have a REALLY old acer, but it's hiding from the mammoth HP in a closet somewhere...
  14. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Apollo Lunar Lander
  15. mantis5
    Offline

    mantis5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    (damn, AAF beat me to it while I was compiling documentation, LOL)

    The Apollo Guidance Computer (AGC)

    from What were the specs of the Apollo Guidance Computer (AGC)?

    [​IMG]

    image public domain, via wikipedia
  16. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    i would wet myself if i were riding in that thing.
  17. mantis5
    Offline

    mantis5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    Hmm, according the The Right Stuff, Alan Shepard did wet himself, but that was in Mercury... but I don't know if it's true.
  18. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16,952
    Likes Received:
    831
    Trophy Points:
    113
    betamax, vcr, my 8 trak player, my record player......my solar powered calculator.

    ok i wasnt around for 8 trak
  19. techguru
    Offline

    techguru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heck, it is more powerful, by several hundred times, than the entire ground control computer systems used for the mercury, gemini, and apollo missions put together (Mercury launch control was 16 kb of memory...)

    Alan
  20. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ibm 360/370

    It is faster and more powerful and has more funstionality than the IBM 360/370 mainframes.

    It is more powerful than the telegraph, too.
Search tags for this page
galaxy s4 more powerful than apollo lunar computers
,
is my droid razr more powerful than apollo
,
list of old electronic gadgets
,

list of old electronics

,

list of old gadgets

,
list of outdated electronic gadgeds
,
old electronics names