Liquid Gingerbread v1.8 rom broke my Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Liquid' started by regkilla, May 7, 2011.

  1. regkilla

    regkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bay area, California
    Ratings:
    +1
    After I flashed Liquid Gingerbread v1.8 rom the Wi-Fi broke on my Droid. Wi-Fi doesn't work anymore. When I turn Wi-Fi on, it force closes. I factory reseted then reflashed LGB v1.8 but same issue exists. Any way to get my Wi-Fi back?
     
  2. martytoo

    martytoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What ROM were you using before LGB 1.8?

    What were the steps that you used to flash the new (LGB 1.8) ROM? Did you boot into recovery? Did you wipe/factory reset? How did you restore your apps when 1.8 booted.
     
  3. liquid0624

    liquid0624 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Wifi definitely works bro sounds like kernel modules that are sticking around after a bad wipe interfering with the rom
     
  4. regkilla

    regkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bay area, California
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was using LGB 1.65 before. I wipe/factory reseted. Titanium Backup was used to restore apps and games when v1.8 was on Droid.
     
  5. regkilla

    regkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bay area, California
    Ratings:
    +1
    I didn't mess with kernel modules. Problem occured after turning on Wi-Fi for first time on LGB v1.8. I liked how LGB v1.8 was made too darn.
     
  6. liquid0624

    liquid0624 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    ok dont' use rom manager to install. what recovery are you using. wipe data cache x2 and wipe dalvik cache as well. Then install LGB v1.8
     
  7. nmiltner

    nmiltner Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Ratings:
    +6
  8. nmiltner

    nmiltner Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ur probably right. It was outa line. I take it back...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. regkilla

    regkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bay area, California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Didn't ask for that.
     
  10. regkilla

    regkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bay area, California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Didn't use rom manager to install. Clockworkmod Recovery.
     
  11. mosraw

    mosraw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago/Columbus
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive ran into a wifi issue today as well.
    Wifi worked yesterday before I zipaligned through Liquid settings.

    I'll try the double wipe and reinstall.
     
  12. phreek

    phreek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi seems to work but my GPS can't find my location. Anyone else having this issue? Seemed to work fine on 1.7
     
  13. martytoo

    martytoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I can top that because the dog ate my homework! :icon_censored:

    I'm not letting him back in the house because I'm afraid he'll eat my phone.
     
  14. mosraw

    mosraw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago/Columbus
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doubled up on wiping, running RZR, wiped cache and dalvik, booted up: still nothing.

    I ended up renaming my SSID, rebooting the Droid, and badabingbadaboom, WIFI up and running.

    Wishing everyone luck!
     
  15. martytoo

    martytoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am wondering what isn't erased when I do the wipes that I usually do before I install a ROM. I use the same wiping procedure each time I do the wipe. I do the data wipe/factory reset. Then I wipe boot and wipe system. Finally I wipe Davlik cache.

    The item that stayed after wiping today was the wallpaper. I had installed the ROM and then signed in to my gmail account before doing any restore on the phone. The wallpaper from my previous ROM was still present.

    The reason that I am curious is that I wonder if the items that are not erased ever have an effect on the new ROM that is installed. The OP had Wi-Fi issues. I have had Titanium Backup restore issues with some ROMs. ( For example LGB 1.6 was fine, 1.7 wouldn't restore backups of many apps with TiBU. LGB 1.8 was fine with TiBU.)
     
Search tags for this page

fix wifi error gingerbread

,

how to use htc post 146052 phone

,

liquidnext wifi problem