Link2SD on GPA19...

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by shawner47, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. BrUhNiGGs

    BrUhNiGGs Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Isn't ubuntu a whole different OS for open development? So I'd have to download that over my windows7?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. rkpeterson

    rkpeterson Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0

    DTa2sd (DarkTremor's A2SD check out the thread on XDA) similar to link2sd as it moves apps to ext partition but, imho a better implementation. With the a2sd script you can move Dalvik cache to ext also. I've used link2sd and DTa2sd for quite some time now and like DTa2sd much better. There are no issues with widgets and I have never experienced any issues with apps not being there after a reboot. I have run it on every ROM out there for the OG other than GPA/Bugless because of the lack of init.d. (and I am sure I can make that happen too, just have not spent the time figuring it out)
     
  3. shawner47

    shawner47 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a version of Linux, yes. You can download it and using the tutorial on the Ubuntu download page, create a live boot CD. It won't do anything to your Windows install (unless you tell it to) and you can use it just like you would if you had installed it. This will give you access to the ext partitions and the data on there.

    HTH


    Also, I'm going to have to look into that DTa2sd now. I like better! lol
     
  4. BrUhNiGGs

    BrUhNiGGs Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Wait so would it basically act like a program opened on my windows like a virtual machine?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. shawner47

    shawner47 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not exactly... Though I do believe you can install it alongside Windows and in effect, yes, run it like a VM. I run it from a boot CD (shut down Windows and boot from the CD into the Linux environment).

    Look here: Download | Ubuntu and click on I want to run from a CD or USB stick. I am not sure what the option to run in Windows does for sure as I haven't tried it yet.
     
  6. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the advice and tips dear friend! I will have to look into that definitely. I remember seeing somethin regarding moving apps and dalvik to SD with the name DarkTremor attached to it. I scour xda every now and again to see What the latest is, but it seems to be more milestone and all other devices besides the OG. I know they started the alpha ice cream sandwich on there, but as far as the OG is concerned xda can't compare to the support that droidforums offers. Second to none. I've always just assumed that DF was more for the OG on Verizon and xda is more for other worldwide devices and carriers. I guess having an over 2 year old device could explain the lack of support development and excitement for the OG over there :)

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
     
    #18 meishkov, Jan 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  7. rkpeterson

    rkpeterson Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. shawner47

    shawner47 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greensburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man, if I could figure out how to get init.d working on bugless I would be one happy human. Looks like I need to get to reading.

    Swyped from my BNTV250 using Tapatalk
     
  9. BrUhNiGGs

    BrUhNiGGs Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Ratings:
    +2
    #21 BrUhNiGGs, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012
  10. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Really? Yea I downloaded it a few days ago, but haven't looked into that OP to figure out if it's an actual app or just scripts. I think it's just a script that like runs automatically at bootup? I saw somewhere in that OP over at XDA about running a command to move the dalvik-cache to the SD because it doesn't do it by default. Thank goodness I didn't flash this and have a bootloop, I just noticed that I haven't made a nandroid backup since I SBF'd to start from scratch like 3 or 4 months ago. Phew:biggrin:
     
  11. rkpeterson

    rkpeterson Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0

    I have been using a2sd on my OG for months. I generally use Prime's deprimed test kernel. On some ROMs I have to add prime's link2sd-pre-install script and use the 05mountsd script. Depending on the ROM and the built-in ext support.
     
  12. rkpeterson

    rkpeterson Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    A2sd on GPA18

    For any one interested; this past weekend I made another attempt to add a2sd to GPA/Bugless. I ended up running GPA18 thru DSIXDA's kitchen and added in the busybox parts support (which adds in support for init.d) and had the kitchen add a2sd to the ROM.
    Using Prime's kernel I was then able to mount the ext partition at boot.
    I added prime's link2sd-pre-install script and the 05mountsd script to init.d and have DartkTremor's a2sd running on GPA18.
     
Search tags for this page
a2sd darktremor jelly bean
,
does link2sd work on s4
,
link+2sd+for s4
,
link2sd kernels
,
link2sd not link after reboot in 4.2.2
,

link2sd-preinstall

,
link 2 sd zip xda
,
similar to link2sd
,
terminal emulator link2sd