1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Line Feeds in Exchange email on Droid Razr

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by vovers1, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. vovers1
    Offline

    vovers1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Al-Khobar Saudi
    I am having problem reading some of my corporate emails from MS Outlook exchange using the Droid RAZR email app.
    Most of the mails are presented OK except for some automated emails from a management system server.

    For some reason the line feeds are not working and to read the emails I have to scroll to the right making reading these emails a pain.
    I get a lot of these mails.
    I think the emails are generated by some kind of Linux mail server.

    Does anyone know of an email app or anything I could do that may solve this problem.
    Or any suggestion as to how to troubleshoot.
  2. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I use Touchdown for my work email on my phone, they have a free trial of it for 30 days I think.

    I paid the 20 dollars for it because I really like the program and it is completely worth it to me.

    Not sure if it would solve your problem but wouldn't hurt to check out. I have two email accounts and they both work great.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
  3. vovers1
    Offline

    vovers1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Al-Khobar Saudi
    Thanks for reply.

    after some googling I have just downloaded trial copy of touchdown as you recommend.
    It has the same line feed issue.
    Must be some funny html code in these emails that stops the reformatting on the screen.
    I'll keep digging.
  4. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    A few questions:

    Did it work properly previously and then the problem started?

    Are any co-workers having same problem?

    Were there any changes by you? IE new phone, software upgrade, modifications

    And last but not least, Do you have an IT department and if so, have you asked them?

    Sorry to ask so many questions but it might help point the great people here on DF in finding a solution for you.

    BTW, How's the weather?:biggrin:
  5. vovers1
    Offline

    vovers1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Al-Khobar Saudi
    This problem has been there since the first time I went mobile. I am just getting tired of all the left/right scrolling.

    Our corporate IT support is huge but not too interested in little fish like this.
    I have posted a help request internally about the same issue yesterday but imagine the reply will not help.

    The knowledge base servers are in Delft in Netherlands somewhere.

    My peers here are all using ios and seem not have the issue.
    I have posted for feedback on internal bb in exchange also.

    It's a balmy 44c here today.... And Ramadan to make it more fun in the sun.

    I'll update post with feedback from it next week.
  6. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Sorry, but IMO, the problem lies in the Corp servers, for your sake, hope I am wrong.

    44c, we're seeing around those temps in the south/central/midwest states right now. Ahh, Ramadan. Are the locals trying to get you to buy cases of coca-cola for them? When stationed there in Khobar in 90-91, they wanted us to buy them coca-cola so they could impress their friends in the after sundown feasts.
  7. vovers1
    Offline

    vovers1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Al-Khobar Saudi
    Well corporate IT is "looking" at it. Which generally means filed it....

    Obviously there is some kind of html tag that blocks the word wrap.

    I found a lousy workaround.
    Reply/edit inline on touch down converts the message to text and wrapping works butt formatting is not great.

    Thanks for feedback.

    Temperature hit 50c here yesterday -fun in the sun....
  8. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Sorry, but it still seems to be within your IT. I guess a lousy work around is better than none(extra line feeds vs. lost format). 50C?? That's enough to trigger warnings, hurt the battery on your phone if it just reaches outside ambient temps!! I do not envy you!:p