1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Liberty V.7 and V.8

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by buzzard437, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Droid 2 running Liberty 1.5 and I havnt kept up with this Rom what so ever.. but I got on the forum to see what things I could do with liberty and I'm see V.7 and V.8 can someone catch me up with what that meens?! Any other advise just throw it at me.. THANKS!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's gingerbread. You are on froyo.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you would you suggest going to gingerbread?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  4. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im on gingerbread running zombiestomp 1.71. I like it a lot. Gingerbread still has some bugs but nothing major. The only thing I don't like is that if I want to flash back to a froyo backup, its not possible. I have to sbf back to stock, root, load the rom I wanted and then flash to the backup.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  5. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya that crossed my mind too and heard the there were some slow 3G connections

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My 3g is fast. If you like to wifi tether, you can't ether.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  7. Jelleephish
    Offline

    Jelleephish New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I've been running 0.7 Liberty and can tell you I absolutely love it in comparison to either Froyo or Zombiestomped 1.71 which I came from. First there is just something about Liberty that I cannot beat anywhere else and second gingerbread has actually sped up my speed with quadrant scores in the 1700-1800s before oc'd.
    The only thing I don't like is the lack of theme availability like Froyo has.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't wifi tether with gingerbread?! :( and I got GB now I can just flash it like a normal rom right over liberty right? Or no?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, just flash it. Remember to clear data/factory reset before or after...I do it twice just to be sure ;)

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  10. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By twice do you meen once before you install the .zip and then after you install the .zip?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  11. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    No, he means two times in a row before installing. Just to be safe.
    I do it too ;)
    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8-Gingercomb Juiced
  12. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol alright does anyone have the link to the newest GB download.. I downloaded one that says Monster_2-1.3.2_4.5.153_updater_Rooted.zip
    Is that the newest version so that I can get zombiestomp 1.7.1 (or would you recommend something else?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  14. leakim13
    Offline

    leakim13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You most certainly can wifi tether with GB you just need to get the "yellow" wifi tether app from market. With GB the jerkfaces tied the native tether into the status bar to try and make it more difficult, but its been worked around.

    Sent from the great north woods via a liberated gingerblasted D2
  15. AceDaPig
    Offline

    AceDaPig New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you be more specific as to which app from the market?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    It's not on the market. Google search wifi tether apk and choose ver 3.0 (yellow icon). Choose your phone model in the settings of the app and you should be good. I'm not condoning tether, just going info

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8-Gingercomb Juiced
  17. Communisum
    Offline

    Communisum New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anybody know how to change launchers without using customizer?
  18. lhowe24
    Offline

    lhowe24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know if the Liberty rom works on Droid 2 Global??

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  19. ibrooks123
    Offline

    ibrooks123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Actually you can! Iwas really bummed when that happened to me, but then someone gave me this link. I guess google has already started tethers to work with GB. This works for me, but if it doesnt for you, I'd say you wont be waiting long! Hope this helps



    wifi_tether_v3_0-pre14.apk - android-wifi-tether - WiFi Tether for Root Users 3.0-pre14 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

  20. buzzard437
    Offline

    buzzard437 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you so much! Lets hope it works!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

liberty v.7