Liberty Gingerbread Nightly v0.1/0.2

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by MindArchr, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Hi,

    I am still relatively new to flashing roms. I just installed Liberty Gingerbread 0.1 yesterday, and now I see there is a 0.2 version out today. My question is, do I install it the same way as a standard rom (wiping data/cache/dalvik, etc.), or do I just clear the cache and install the zip? Also, will updating to this newest version (0.2) erase all my settings and apps if I have to install it like any other rom? OR, do I just let Liberty Toolbox handle everything instead of doing it manually?

    Thank You.
  2. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    well if your on the ROOTED GB then all you have to od is install it like a regular rom byt wipeing data/cash b4 installing the zip and reboot then install the Liberated GB from the toolbox AFTER that....here is the link to the Zip and instructions but again only if your on the rooted GB skip the SBF part at the 1st and if your on the non rooted GB then you have to SBF

    How to: Get Rooted Gingerbread on DROID 2 - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog
  3. jawonder
    Offline

    jawonder New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Where did see 0.2?, i have the paid version of the toolbox and i'm only seeing 0.1.
  4. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    this will be the case everyday or close to it anyways. These are nightly builds where the devs psuh out a new update every night to quickly stomp most of the major bugs stomped out. It will then move to beta stage where some smaller bugs remain and likley some of the smaller ones to. Once it is very stable, it will then become stable and become v1.0 most likley. Point being if you want to always be up to date on the liberty gb rom it will be quite tedious!
  5. cydetrakd
    Offline

    cydetrakd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When i update liberty to gingy i also noticed it was called .2 but my drop down shows .1 but now there is .3 but only for droidx. I truly hope its soon for us also.
  6. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA


    Yeah, I'm on the rooted GB, thanks a million for explaining, appreciate it.
  7. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    I saw it last night, I took a screenshot:
    [​IMG]
  8. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    OK, I definitely have a much better understanding now. I can see why it would grow tedious if nightly builds are consistently pushed out...so it's much better to wait for the stable. I admit I was eager to port on over to GB, which is why I installed v0.1. dancedroid
  9. mjs1015
    Offline

    mjs1015 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok this probably a dumb question but what's the difference between liberty 2.0.1 rom and gingerbread rom. I just had to sbf back to stock. I must have downloaded a corrupt file or something trying to get gingerbread. Should I give it a go again or is it even worth it?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  10. rudydroid
    Offline

    rudydroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    imperial valley, california
    Liberty 2.0.1 sat on froyo. Liberty gingerbread v0.1 and v0.3 are gingerbread.

    running liberty gingerbread v0.3, slightly oc'd
  11. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Indeed it is tedious but it also good to check in and flash them from time to time to make sure the devs have enough people testing the builds to provide bug reports. I wish I could flash over on occasion but being a D2G user I guess I have to wait for now.
  12. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    So, can I flash the nightly from the to my D2 then? Is is still just for DX?

    Sent from My GingerDroid
  13. KevGuillot
    Offline

    KevGuillot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the haptic feedback for the home buttons working yet?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  14. Cstryon
    Offline

    Cstryon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is there an official bug reports thread I'm missing for the nightlies?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  15. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    yes, you can flash the nightly for the D2. Its no longer just for the DX.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  16. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    as of v2, it still wasnt working for me....

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  17. MindArchr
    Offline

    MindArchr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    i couldnt find one. the one or two threads i thought i found werent official...idk if we could start one, or do we have to wait for an official sticky? the few glitches I encountered included:

    (as of nightly v0.2)
    -the am/pm missing by the time
    -no LED w/o having to use an app
    -no haptic feedback on some interactions
    -wrong build property

    I can live with them all, these arent complaints, just bugs Im pointing out. If I encounter anymore, Ill share until an official thread is up.

    btw, forgive me for not using correct punctuation, laziness on my part!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  18. rmcelroy
    Offline

    rmcelroy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have another retarded question to throw in the mix...
    I am currently on 2.0.1.

    I do not see anywhere to download the GB version of Liberty.
    I know I will first have to flash (or SBF, or whatever you want to call it) GB on my phone...

    then I guess I just dl the liberty toolbox from the market like usual, and then will the GB ROM just show up when I am on GB?
  19. rmcelroy
    Offline

    rmcelroy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also, I see the previous screenshot has a "nightlies" section in the ROM manager... I do not see this section at all...

    *edit*

    Apparently I did not have the "donate" version of the toolbox installed... (I purchased it, got 2.0.1, and then did not re-install) once I got it back, I checked in there and found what I was looking for... sorry for my ignorance.
    :)
  20. Cstryon
    Offline

    Cstryon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The only bugs I've seen is the led light (not a problem at all), some random reboots when streaming pandora, and I can't add new calender events. But hey, I'm pushing near 2000 on quadrant! Everything is just better!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

mindarchr