Let's go HTC_IME 2.1 for Droid!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by pcm2a, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. pcm2a
    Offline

    pcm2a Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all. So the HTC Android 2.1 is leaked out now and with it comes a nice new HTC_IME keyboard. If you used this on any older phone then you know it blows the stock keyboard away. I'm guessing this one will be updated for high res screens.

    I don't want to type it all in again, but over on XDA I have started gathering some information about this:
    How to modify compiled AndroidManifest.xml to downgrade it from 2.1 to 2.0? - xda-developers

    I have pulled the HTC_IME.apk from the leaked rom.
    I have extracted the AndroidManifest.xml from the file and used a hex editor to change the SDK version from 6 to 5 (We are on 2.0 not 2.1).

    The only piece left is to change this Manifest.MF file to have the correct SHA1-Digest for the .xml file, but I'm not sure how to do that. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Keep us posted on the development. This would be awesome and I would love to use the HTC keyboard on my phone again like I did on my G1.
     
  3. jrocketdroid
    Offline

    jrocketdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow - that's awesome...can't wait =) sorry not savvy enough to be a developer, so that's all I can add to this thread.
     
  4. JasonLee
    Offline

    JasonLee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    Ratings:
    +0
    Post when done please! !!!
     
  5. sebgonz
    Offline

    sebgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might be able to help out. Pm me the file that you need help with and fill me in on. The progress. I'm sure we can accomplish something
     
  6. angel12
    Offline

    angel12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    will be watchin guys, love the htc keyboard!
     
  7. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wish I could help. You might also try posting over at alldroid.org. They have some smart guys over there working on the rooting effort, so perhaps they can help with this as well.
     
  8. phamous
    Offline

    phamous Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    ask Cyan to give you some help with that, or Jubeh on xda. pm them

    jubeh's done some modification on the first IME, but besides... unless the latest 2.1 hero'-esque devices will sport a high resolution screen, the IME will still be for lower resolution devices. Apparently the Droid Passion is supposed to be high res? i don't remember, but that dump isn't available yet, and sources haven't released a 2.1 for those higher resolution phones

    Steve Kondik (cyanogen) on Twitter
     
  9. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  10. JFDroid
    Offline

    JFDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, this is pretty cool. Works well on my Droid. Turned off one of the settings so that in portrait mode, the predictive words don't block my text box that I'm typing into. I type fairly accurately anyway, so this is a good compromise for me.

    Need the kb to be high-res and stretched for landscape, and a fix for the predictive text in portrait and it would be really amazing. Even in its sort of gimped form, it's still better than the stock 2.0 android keyboard. That's lame.
     
  11. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a thought - since the IME for 1.5 works, have you tried simply installing the new one on 2.0 without modification? I could see the OS not being happy if a program was designed for a later version, but it might work.
     
  12. phamous
    Offline

    phamous Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL ^^ already been done buddy!

    the problem with that is the 1.5 htc_ime is for lower resolution devices that htc has produced. The keyboard is functional except it's pixelated due to the higher resolution screen on the droid, and there's a substantial amount of cut-off in landscape typing because of the lack of drawables
     
  13. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seeing as I linked to the thread on this forum where it was done a few posts back, I know that. I'm asking if he tried installing the 2.1 htc_ime without modification and thus knows it to be incompatible with 2.0.
     
  14. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And to answer that question, a post from xda that I just found:

     
  15. jrocketdroid
    Offline

    jrocketdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    any luck trying this with 2.01 update on the Droid?
     
Search tags for this page

android.manifest.xml htc ime keyboard

,

htc ime apk 2.1

,

htc ime apk para android 2.1

,

htc ime lo.apk