Legal or not?

Jcshannon05

Reaction score
Just out of sheer curiosity... is it legal or illegal to own/use a rooted Droid? I could honestly care less.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

kaboyd

Reaction score
It is your phone. It does void the warranty that comes with the phone, but that is not illegal. It is your choice to access root authority.

aminaked

Silver Member
Reaction score
VZ's contract says that installing unofficial software is grounds for cancelling an account.

As far as the government caring, I suppose the FCC could come down on you if your ROM somehow caused interference or something. Not sure that is even possible with software. I think it's legal then, but I am not a lawyer.

Last edited:

jstafford1

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Twitter
jstaff79
I'm guessing if you tethered a bunch of droids together and created a self aware supper computer bent on world domination it might throw up some red flags. But just a rooted phone, not so much. Voids the warranty, but you can unroot if needed, so eh.

samiusmc

Reaction score
Don't do the crime if you can't do the time.

mkzbdroid

Reaction score
Just out of sheer curiosity... is it legal or illegal to own/use a rooted Droid? I could honestly care less.

lol Illegal, dude they arent gonna put you in jail for actually having knowledge to operate a phones fine tuned operations....who knows it is Big RED:icon_eek:

tcrews

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Reaction score
Website
android.snkbitten.com
One you purchase the phone it is your phone. It is legal for you to throw it in the toilet, jump up and down on it, root it, give it to someone else, whatever.

It is against Verizon's contract with you to "operate" a modified phone on their network but they have no way of detecting/knowing your phone is modified.