1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Learning to compile my own ROM

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bhughesiii, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok since apparently no Devs visit the Hacks section I'll post this here..

    When I run make, it is telling me that Platform version is 2.2.1 even though I have the latest source. I thought this would be 2.2.2? Perhaps there is a file I need to edit?

    ** edit **
    When I run make I get
    Code:
    build/core/base_rules.mk:108: user tag on app Superuser at packages/apps/Superuser - add your app to core.mk instead
    Any ideas on these?
  2. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    colorado
    hey ya good luck

    the 2.2.2 change is somewhere in vendor im pretty sure i forget and cant find it now. but you can also just change it in the build.prop if you wnat thats waht is the file making it show on your phone.

    as for the other goto rules_make line 108 and see what it says. but if this is not stopping your build dont worry about it its just saying its listed twice . but in the android/system/extras su thre are some changes you ned to make

    you can look at githubs commits to see what needs to be changed.

    hope this helps some sorry i have been out of the game a few motnhs and have forgotten a lot :)
  3. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks eagle1967, I'll look for that. I was able to compile and make otapackage, but I got stuck figuring out how to get it on my phone. The set of instructions I am using do not include how to make it an update.zip file. I guess I have a lot of researching to do before I recompile again. I also wish there was a error log or something for when you run make and it has errors that it that it posts those errors in a file for review. I don't have time to watch the compile and notice any errors. Also, I have been running ubuntu in a virtualbox virtual pc. I may just do a dual boot and maybe things will go faster.
  4. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    colorado
    compile is slow

    compiling is slow on dual cores it sems to take about an hour for most for for your info. but the virtual setup limits you in space. are you looking in your out folder for the zip file to install to your phone. you might not be runing make -j4 otapackage thats what you need to run make as to make the package to install to phone.
  5. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running make otapackage, and I have found where it is going. I do not know how to create and update.zip file. And I hope that running dual boot will help. Compiling has been taking close to 8 - 10 hours in a virtual setup. even with make -j4
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  6. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks! I am in the process of rebuilding my dev environment as a dual boot instead of a vitrual machine. I will check it out when I get to that point.
  8. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using the PDF from above, does it matter whether you use the proprietaries from FRG22D or FRG83G?
  9. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it matters. Either belongs to froyo branch. However, I haven't tested against frg83g so I wouldn't know for sure.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  10. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, thinkmega! I didn't think it would make too much difference.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  11. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Figured out what to do with my SU errors, or at least a temp fix. Recompiling now to see if it's going to work. Will update when I can.
  12. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Compile finally completed all the way. Installing to phone to see if it works.





    **EDIT**

    It would not install. Probably a few steps I need to look into. All I get is Install Aborted cannot open /sdcard/update.zip (bad)
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011
  13. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IT'S ALIVE!!! My first build is now operational on my phone!
  14. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    congrat! now you can create your own theme.
  15. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! I intend to theme partially, actually I used to maintain a theme for the old sapphire ROMS called extreme orange so I will incorporate some of that in there.

    I really want to add in the reboot option and hard code in the "Galaxy S" style power widget in the pull down. I have a lot of learning to do now.
  16. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Gratz! glad i could pass along the info you needed for the SU problems :)

    Now if i could just get mine to work..... d2g is a pain lol
  17. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good luck with that, I know I have a lot to learn with the d1.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  18. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So now that I have successfully compiled a source rom and ran it on my phone it is time to start tweaking. I started with removing the vibrate when powering off. Hopefully will test that tomorrow morning as I am compile my edits now. I really have no idea where to start looking to make changes. One thing I'd love to start off with is either changing the default text color to blue or add in a color picker.
  19. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you deployed the aosp rom to the phone, were you required to activate the phone like installing the stock rom? It didn't happen to me when I installed mine.
  20. bhughesiii
    Offline

    bhughesiii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You mean when it has to call Verizon to activate? No it didn't. I think that only happens when you flash an .sbf file because that wipes out everything and puts if back to before activation status. I loaded up my rom, and used a gapps package that I had from a previous rom download and once I entered my email and password everything (almost everything) re-syncd to my phone.
Search tags for this page
best virtual machine for android compile rom
,

how to compile a rom

,
how to decompile rom update.zi
,
how to edit my own rom
,
i want to compile my own android rom