LauncherPro Settings in BB v0.4

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by kenbarnum, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Smeech

    Smeech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fremont, Ca
    Ratings:
    +2
    Setup in sig below.

    I recently did a clean install since I didn't do a clean install from .2 to .3 and from .3 to .4

    I'm using Launcherpro v0.4.4

    Redraw is no more than 1 second, if any. MUCH better than it was before the wipe. Also, before I was using Nextheme.
     
  2. G8GT594

    G8GT594 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    For the last week i have messed around with launcher pro setting and STILL got redraws. Just went back to ADW. Much better IMO.
     
  3. s3t0

    s3t0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    adw works fine, takes some adjusting to the options though
     
  4. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hmmm...I tried ADW when it first came out and was completely unimpressed. Maybe I will try again.
    I am now going back and forth between stock launcher and launcherpro to test the difference.
    I think the stock launcher has some lag in the redraw as well...
    Maybe I will try ADW again!
     
  5. s3t0

    s3t0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used helix launcher initially but it seemed to lag a lot
    havent tried launcher pro at all though....
    ADW was annoying at first, then i realized it has a lotta customization to it i didnt know of before
     
  6. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok...so I tried every possible setting on the latest launcherpro and then installed a couple really old versions to try that.
    None of that worked.

    Went back to try ADW and it is faster now...

    WHEN I STARTED THIS THREAD IT WAS NOT A Launcherpro VS Adw...
    I think LauncherPro used to be faster but maybe he has just written too much code in to try to make everybody happy.

    Using ADW now and its just fine.
     
  7. s3t0

    s3t0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so it works smooth now?
     
  8. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ADW seems to only have a little lag every once in a blue moon. Launcherpro got to the point that it was redrawing after any program closed.

    Its got to be that LauncherPro just got too bloated OR it simply doesn't play nice with BBv0.4
     
  9. Droid_3.0

    Droid_3.0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland :P
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have mine siting at 550m MHz with 20 % battery and i have 0 Redraw i also have The UD red theme with about 6 widgets running i love Launcher pro because of the custom dock and the speed best home replacement EVER!
     
  10. fortune730

    fortune730 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have had better speeds, and less redraws when NOT enabling the droid hack.
     
  11. jhhoffma

    jhhoffma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried sapphire with a LV 1GHz kernel and the redraw was even worse along with performance of the launcher, in general. Went back to LP and BB and and am learning to deal with the redraws.
     
  12. cyberjeff

    cyberjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm getting a lot of redraws also and find it very annoying. I have a hunch that it is because BBv0.4 is closing Launcher Pro while other apps are running to try to keep extra memory free. I was running Launcher Pro with a stock 2.1 ROM and never had this redraw problem.

    Does anyone know what the stock 2.2 FROYO memory settings are? And does anyone know how to change BBv0.4 to the stock 2.2 FROYO memory settings? I would like to see if this makes any difference.