LauncherPro Laggy or What?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by want a droid, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I finally downloaded LauncherPro about a week ago and I've been using it ever since. I always heard rave reviews about it and how it made the phone faster and smoother and the likes.

    On my phone however it seems a lot more laggy than the original set up that came with my phone. I'll press apps on my screen and they'll take a bit to open. Overall it just seems slower.

    Should I uninstall and just go back to my original or did they just put out an update that's made it messed up for some reason?

    Any help?

    BTW this was before the update that was put out today, and even after updating today it's still laggy.
     
  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    No lag on mine. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now.
     
  3. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clear data and cache and uninstall and then reinstall. The dev told us to do that, it fixed my lag problems anyways. Also set cache to compact that helped me a lot.
     
  4. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do that in the app or in main settings?
     
  5. droidmikes

    droidmikes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No lag for me whatsoever, way better than stock.
     
  6. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    this is a common problem with LP. samsonite801 has a script/toggle in his sig line that worked wonders for me! once i tried it, my lag and screen redraws immediately disappeared. i have read that launcherpro.com has other proposed solutions, but i haven't had the need to resort to other means...

    here is the script (assuming you are rooted, of course):

    If you use ADW or LauncherPro and if after using your browser, email or any other apps for awhile, then if you press the 'HOME' button, if it takes forever to redraw your home screen, and you are sick of that HORRIBLE LAG, then try this: In a terminal, type su and enter. Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter. Then reboot. Now evaluate whether or not this fixes your lag. If you want to undo what this command does, simply remove that toggle from: /data/local.prop
     
    #6 huskerkate, Sep 22, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  7. steve0suprem0

    steve0suprem0 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    central coast, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything I did was laggy until I rooted and loaded the latest epic rom.
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Did a quick Google and found that this setting locks the current home screen in memory...launcher Pro has a setting for this built-in if you want to use it - under "General" in LP preferences.
     
    #8 Redflea, Sep 22, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  9. madroid1

    madroid1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    in the advanced setting for launcherpro you can turn up your opening speeds. it defaults to 4, you can set up to 10. turn off animations too. mine opens in milliseconds.
     
  10. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    i've also read that you can adjust your memory settings in LP, and this can help: menu<preferences<advanced settings<memory usage settings<memory usage preset<[choose light, low, or very low]
     
  11. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23,476
    Likes Received:
    4,703
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,253
    Im a big lp fan, but ima try adw for awhile. I want to try something different

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  12. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    i'm a big fan of both, actually. right now, the thing tipping the scale in favor of LP is the launcher dock, with space for 15 icons, and the ability to customize the dock icon labels with text. if ADW ever does this, i'll be all over it, cuz i prefer ADW's expanded options for choosing widget sizes.