Launcher2 Push help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jrod2183, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. jrod2183

    jrod2183 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, trying to push the Launcher2.apk over to my phone for use with BB, but keep getting an error. Using sdk I'm entering this:

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cp /sdcard/Launcher2.apk /system/app/Launcher2.apk
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    sync
    reboot

    Now the problem I'm having is when I type the underlined/bold line and hit enter, it says 'cp: not found'

    currently running BB 0.7.6 and wanted the 2.1 launcher to go with it - can't find droidroothelper on the market (and when I had it it kept force closing)...any help/assistance is appreciated
     
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    busybox cp /sdcard/Launcher2.apk /system/app/Launcher2.apk

    Try that.

    CP isn't symlinked in a lot of roms.
     
  3. jrod2183

    jrod2183 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perfect, that worked. Thanks a lot - my droid was about 30 seconds away from breaking the sound barrier if you know what I mean haha
     
  4. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you want to make it easier in the future, use a terminal emulator:

    su
    # cd /system/bin
    #busybox cp -s busybox cp


    This will symlink the command to cp, for future use.
     
  5. jrod2183

    jrod2183 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, now just ran into another problem. The commands worked fine when pushing the Launcher to Adamz smoked glass rom, but wont work in Bugless Beast 7.6. I think the problem has to do with the busybox thats included in the BB rom - any chance you have a link to where I could download Busybox with install intructions?
     
  6. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Um, I can attach it.

    Hang on.
     
  7. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    It goes in system/bin.


    Unzip and put it on your sdcard.

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    dd if=/sdcard/busybox of=/system/bin/busybox
    cd /system/bin
    chmod 755 busybox
    sync
    reboot
     
  8. jrod2183

    jrod2183 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    got everything to work correctly, thanks for all the help
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Glad to help.
     
  10. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    mtdblock3?

    i thought we'd finally stopped people from that.
    Still makes me cringe when I see it :(
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    It doesn't really matter.
     
  12. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    then just mount /system, I do.
    mounting the wrong block just screams I dunno what I'm doing.
     
Search tags for this page

how to push launcher2 android