launcher2.apk

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by vandyike, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. vandyike
    Offline

    vandyike New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For a real simpleton what are the steps required to load it. I have astro file manager and still have'nt figured the thing out. Not a complete dummy but I'm slowly getting there. Thanks
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,694
    Likes Received:
    529
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    move the .apk file to your phone and install it from there.

    it should show up as "launcher" if you use a taskkiller.
  3. vandyike
    Offline

    vandyike New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    launcher 2.1

    huh? There must be something I have'nt comprehended yet. Still trying to grasp--going back to programming 101 in 1958 and it's frustrations. This is just more antagonizing fun.
  4. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Mount your Droid via USB to your PC.

    Copy the Launcher2.apk to the root of the SD card in your Droid.

    Using the ASTRO file manager app, browse to the Launcher2.apk file itself on the SD card root.

    Tap it. You will now have two options: Install and Browse to Application.

    Tap install...

    When you hit the home key you'll be asked to choose from 'Home' or 'Launcher', Launcher will give you that new Launcher you just installed.

    Just to warn you in advance though that it is seriously buggy and you'll most likely end up removing it anyway. :/
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio

    Just what is buggy about it???? Everyone keeps saying that but I don't see it.
  6. moot
    Offline

    moot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^

    You don't get force closes while using the launcher?
  7. masterxchief
    Offline

    masterxchief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    don't you have to check the unknown sources box?
  8. Nat3Th3Ap3
    Offline

    Nat3Th3Ap3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I installed it very simple.

    1. Went to droidforums.net on my Droid
    2. Went to the post that had the download under Hacks
    3. Downloaded via my Droid Browser
    4. Went to settings and set to install apps not from App Market
    5. Opened with Astro
    6. Clicked launcher >> Installed

    After that just pressed the home button asked me what I wanted to use. So I selected Launcher and forced it to use that always and it has been working just fine ever since. . .only took about 5 mins total.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  9. Nat3Th3Ap3
    Offline

    Nat3Th3Ap3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Agreed! I have been using it all day and have not had a single problem with it.
  10. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Every single iteration of launcher2.apk I have used produces some of the most bugged out things I have seen on my Droid, such as 'redrawing' the home page where apps and widgets slowly appear after flipping a page, general overall lag and of course let me not forget to mention the abundant force closes.

    :mad:
  11. Sodner
    Offline

    Sodner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  12. zz500
    Offline

    zz500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Same here. I uninstalled it last night, and now my droid runs smooth again.
  13. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    No, I sure don't. Been working fine.
  14. Nat3Th3Ap3
    Offline

    Nat3Th3Ap3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Bummer. . .I have not had a single forces close, no lag and absolutly no problems with it at all. I have icons and widgets on every single page also and I'm still not running in to any issues. I do take that back the only issue I have had is where the lettering on the icon list is a little off center and looks messed up but a quick restart fixes this.
  15. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Yes, you're right. That has to be done before you press install. If you don't you'll get a message and then taken to settings to do so.
  16. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Everyone I've heard of who has issues with it is running a home replacement app..
    .
  17. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I'm only running Beautiful Widgets. No home replacement apps. Maybe that's why I don't have issues. :)
  18. Nat3Th3Ap3
    Offline

    Nat3Th3Ap3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I also am not running any home replacement apps. Thinking about getting Beautiful Widgets but maybe that is also why I am not running in to any issues. Maybe after work I'll download a home replacement app to see if that could be one of the issues.
  19. SinCitySRT4
    Offline

    SinCitySRT4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its never givin me problems either only if u switch into landscape while at the home screen it tends to freeze the whole screen except for the app drawer. to me its understandable though since it isnt designed for landscape yet
  20. dfwdroid
    Offline

    dfwdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you running the stock OS or you are rooted and loaded with other ROM?
Search tags for this page
android 2.3.5 launcher apk
,
android 2.3.5 set home launcher sense launcher
,
how to in launcher2.apk to root
,
how to install launcher2.apk android
,
launcher 2 apk for 2.3
,
launcher 2.apk
,

launcher2 apk

,
launcher2 apk download
,
launcher2 apk root
,
launcher2 application not installed
,

launcher2.apk

,
launcher2.apk 2.3.5
,
launcher2.apk android 2.3 mediafire
,
launcher2.apk download
,
launcher2.apk for android 2.3