1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Launcher Pro re-written from Scratch??

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by zerosouls, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
  2. bhall238
    Offline

    bhall238 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Lukehluke
    Offline

    Lukehluke New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to switch it as the main launcher after you install it as Android asks which one you want to use.

    Does for me anyway on my HTC Desire (HTC Sense).
  4. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    I haven't had any issues with it not working with 2.2
  5. bhall238
    Offline

    bhall238 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then I am jumping on this. Thanks very much.
  6. airborne3e9
    Offline

    airborne3e9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what do u mean have it stick as default? it doesnt just stay as the primary launcher when u hit home and select "use by default for this action?"

    and ive never used the home switcher app so correct me if im wrong but it's basically a short cut instead of hitting the "menu" key, then "settings", selecting "applications" from the menu, selecting the application in the list, and checking the "clear defaults" button...this way when u do that action again (ex. hitin the home key), it gives u all the options again. why would this app stop you from using launcher pro (which is awesome but im an adw luncher user myself)?
  7. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    For those using sense, they will have to go into manage applications and clear defaults on HTC Sense. Then pressing home will give them the choice. This is what I had to do on my brothers inc.

    Sent from my Droid
  8. bhall238
    Offline

    bhall238 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to have this and Home Switcher installed. After 2.2 was released it was announced that Home switcher no longer worked. Ever since then when I would press the home button, the stock home screen would pop up. Maybe I was doing something else wrong, but before 2.2 Launcher Pro would pop up when the home button was pressed. I uninstalled both after that to conserve memory. Speaking of memory, if I rebooted the phone the stock screen would show up but before 2.2 LP would (I am almost certain that's what happened).
  9. b_salgado
    Offline

    b_salgado New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I run LP and Home Switcher with 2.2. I have yet to have an issue with it not working. The only minor complaint I have is that it sometimes takes a second to re-draw the screen after using other apps. Other than this minor issue, it's perfect. I did get a couple of FC's but they had an update and it's perfect again.
  10. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    Go here for a fix for the re-draws. It seems to have worked for me.
  11. b_salgado
    Offline

    b_salgado New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is not rooted so this fix will not work for me. It's not a big issue.... only a second or so to re draw the screen. Usually, I am done doing what I need to do anyway so It's really a non issue! I have been kicking around the idea of rooting this phone however.
  12. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Root it! Then unleash the power... UNLIMITED POWER!!!
  13. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For everyone stating that home switcher doesn't work in 2.2, it does for launching other launcher apps, it just doesn't work for setting defaults.
  14. bhall238
    Offline

    bhall238 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The redraw issue is for people running different ROMs?

    I found the fix in the Launcher Pro forum. A free App called Clear Default Home lets you clear the default setting in the stock launcher app and then you can select your new default (Launcher Pro). Well you guys are more knowledgable than me, I guess. I did a littel more digging. It's new with 2.2 that you can look at all your applications and see Launcher (stock) and deselect default to do the same that Clear Default Home does (so I guess I don't really need that one). I'll be the first to admit it, there is a lot to this phone and operating system that I don't know.

    I am running with Launcher Pro again and am very happy.
  15. bhall238
    Offline

    bhall238 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's exactly what I meant to say. I wanted Launcher Pro to be my default. Got it working now dancedroid.
  16. Jimbo47
    Offline

    Jimbo47 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a problem keeping it set as default too, ever since updating to 2.2. Only thing that solved it was doing a factory restore.
  17. xtremecanefan
    Offline

    xtremecanefan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Love launcher pro, looking forward to this release.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  18. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    I actually can't say I am too happy with the dev starting from scratch... hopefully this improves his app rather than tunnels him into a different direction. LP has always been my launcher of choice anyways, why mess with a good thing?
  19. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Because that "good thing" is actually a LOT of hack work. Rebuilding it will allow him to add features faster and allow for better control over what everything does. If successful in his venture, this could be a great thing for LauncherPro. I am a BIG fan of ADW, and even I think this could turn out to be a good thing and plan on trying it when the finished project is released.
  20. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    I really hope you are correct. I like ADW too, in fact I sometimes switch between them because they are just both greatly done launchers. But I consider LP to be my main.
Similar Threads
  1. Shmooze
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,659
  2. SID KELLY
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    4,215
  3. bigfootjumpsuit
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    3,668
  4. Mwsr
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    5,275
  5. Tillyswilly
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    1,665
Loading...