1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Launcher Pro Hijacked My Phone

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Super V Rossi, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Super V Rossi
    Offline

    Super V Rossi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So...

    I was prompted to update my Launcher Pro recently, I figured I'd do so on my own accord. Little did I know that if I didn't update before my current version expired, LP would take over my phone. I figured it would revert back to the stock OS or just let me continue using the outdated version, guess not. It just redirects me to the LP home page, the only thing I can access right now is the dialer and Skyfire.

    This is asinine. What kind of program locks you out of your phone if you don't update? I can't quite wrap my head around it... it's baffling and makes me want to punch the developer(s) square in the throat.

    Unfortunately, I get an error every time I try to download the update from the official site and I've also received errors trying to download other applications (I've never had such errors occur before) So right now my phone is completely useless until I can get this sorted out.

    Any help would be much appreciated. As soon as I get this fixed I'm uninstalling LP for good.

    EDIT: Nevermind, think I figured out a workaround.
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
  2. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Uhh... What?

    So you were still running a Beta build of LP or?

    did you try to press the home button? If LP is uninstalled, the default blur launcher will load... did you power cycle?
  3. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England


    ATTENTION LAUNCHER PRO:


    We have the phone surrounded.

    Come out with your hands up and prepare to be uninstalled!
  4. jesq
    Offline

    jesq New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This just happened on my daughter's Droid X. The notification box that LP has expired stays on the screen, blocking the keyboard. Going to LP's site brings up a screen that requires her to log in to something that she has no username or password for. How do we fix this?
  5. aholeinthewor1d
    Offline

    aholeinthewor1d New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this just happened to my friends phone today...i havent seen it yet but her said something about it saying LP has expired and blah blah....there has to be a fix for this besides wiping the phone and losing all data??? he said he cant even get into his app drawer
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Care to share?
  7. Corradokid05
    Offline

    Corradokid05 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing here... woke up this morning and took my phone off the charging base it instantly had a pop up saying that Launcher Pro update is available and I have to update. The phone then automatically loads the browser to LauncherPro but the site wont load!!!!!

    If try to hit the home button... the same message comes up and automatically tries to load the website again! I cant even get home to make a call or get to any other apps etc...

    I have tried restarting the phone and nothing... phone turns on and goes directly to the website which wont load again!!

    Also on Droid X.

    HELLPP!!!
  8. hemorrdroid
    Offline

    hemorrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    You will have to do a backup that doesnt have LP on it, or SBF. I had this happen in the past, very annoying. No way to get into settings to disable LP.
  9. Corradokid05
    Offline

    Corradokid05 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    YEA! Lets hear it!! :)
  10. Corradokid05
    Offline

    Corradokid05 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    How to do a backup? Sorry... newbie question maybe. Remember... we cant get to the home screen.
  11. Corradokid05
    Offline

    Corradokid05 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK guys... I got it. I happened to have a couple other apps needing an update today. These updates showed up in the top bar, i pulled it down and clicked on the notification on the updates being available which loaded the app status menu. I scrolled down to launcher pro, it showed that an update was available, I clicked on it, loaded the update and I am now good to go.

    I don't know why launcher pro has it setup that when the update is available it automatically tries to load the website instead of popping up in the top bar like all other apps! When their website doesn't load, that causes an issue!!

    Hope that helps!
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2011
  12. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    It should be a direct download, so that you don't even have to go to the website. With how amazing LP is, it's kinda shocking to hear things like this happen.
  13. hemorrdroid
    Offline

    hemorrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Nice, glad to hear you found a workaround!
  14. Anticitizen
    Offline

    Anticitizen New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't wipe your phone!

    Try this first:

    Hold down the 'home' key in order to start your native task manager.

    You should see the Settings icon, probably in the bottom right, of your tasks.

    If you don't see Settings, double-tap your Home key in order to open Voice Dialing. When it opens, say 'Open Settings.'

    Once you're in Settings, go to Applications, and remove LauncherPro.

    Hope this helps.
  15. geniferx
    Offline

    geniferx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are my hero. I've been struggling with this and you saved me a trip to the Verizon store today. THANK YOU!!
  16. Anticitizen
    Offline

    Anticitizen New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem. I'm the IT manager for a chain of Verizon stores, and this has happened to a lot of our sales reps, and guess who they call... me. So, yeah, I'm not too happy with LauncherPro right now, even if it didn't happen to me (I have the paid version).

    And for those of you saying that people should've paid attention to the fact that LP was about to expire... oh, come on. There was no warning it was going to practically hijack the phone. I've used trial software up until the expiration many times. Usually the software just stops working. I've never had a piece of software render your computer or phone unusable until you either pay for it or find a workaround to remove it!
  17. horatio13
    Offline

    horatio13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, first post/
    I was lured into rooting my phone yesterday, and all was well until i woke up and Launcher Pro won't load, when it says it expired. I can't get to the original home screen by holding down the home button either.. any help? I hate this app.
  18. Waratilla
    Offline

    Waratilla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah i tried what Anticitizen said and it didnt work due to my task native task manager did not come up. I have a droid 2 rooted, i just wanna be able to use my phone again..stupid launcher pro
  19. Anticitizen
    Offline

    Anticitizen New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you try double-tapping the home key to pull up voice command?

    If that doesn't work, and LauncherPro launches the browser, type this in the address bar of the browser:

    bubiloop.com/download/org.adw.launcher

    That will launch the Android Market (specifically ADW Launcher's entry in the market). From there you can navigate to your downloaded applications and remove LP.

    This should work.
  20. gary73
    Offline

    gary73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try loading home switcher for froyo worked for me

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

hijacked 2

,

home advisor pro hi jacked my phone

,

launcherpro expired