Launcher Pro 0.8.4 update in PE 4.3

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by EbE404, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. EbE404

    EbE404 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody have any luck updating LP?

    I went into Elite Settings to update the app over WiFi. After it "finished", it was still functional, but all of my widgets had disappeared, it had dumped my LP Plus license, and was still at V0.8.3.

    Happy to take suggestions if I screwed something up here.
     
    #1 EbE404, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  2. Tepes

    Tepes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ended up having to delete Launcher Pro with Root Explorer, rebooting and then downloading from the market and restoring LP backup. When all is said and done though, it is really clipping along. Nice and smooth.
     
  3. illmatic636

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2

    Where did you download 4.3?
     
  4. x25064

    x25064 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Tepes, I don't think you even need to do all of that, I believe you can uninstall launcher pro from the elite settings menu. I didn't know this until just recently when a member here pointed it out.
     
  5. EbE404

    EbE404 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, that was a typo, should have been V4.2 ;)

    Thanks for the other comments, folks.

    Before uninstalling then reinstalling, I was just curious if this had actually worked for anybody else.
     
  6. kurruptor

    kurruptor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on 5.0.2 to clarify.

    I came here to ask the same question. It wouldn't update normally. I couldn't uninstall it normally.

    I just attempted x25064's suggestion. When I selected to Uninstall it from the Project Elite settings, I guess it uninstalled it, but apparently it didn't restore stock settings. I was no longer able to get back to my home screen.

    At that point I switched to my Astro file manager and went to the 8.4 apk to install it. Got the same message about install not done.

    Rebooted phone and its stuck on boot animation.
     
    #6 kurruptor, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  7. EbE404

    EbE404 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oooh, bad news. It sounds like you didn't have an alternate homescreen app installed.

    Before nuking your homescreen app, always make sure you have a secondary (ADW, etc.) otherwise, well, you have no homescreen to boot into.

    Do you have a nandroid you can restore?
     
  8. kurruptor

    kurruptor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did have a restore to use, older than I would have liked, but no big deal.

    I didn't know I had to have an alternate homescreen installed, I assumed it would have gone back to stock settings.

    Lesson learned.
     
  9. EbE404

    EbE404 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to hear about the restore. The thing that bit you here is the fact the LP is the "stock" home for PE (that's also why the update needs to be done via a special method).

    I'll give the "nuclear option" a go when I get home and report back.
     
  10. AdamPA1006

    AdamPA1006 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ya all I did to update mine was I think I saw an option in elite settings to install stock launcher pro.....unthemed version....did that, then had to search for it in market,it didn't show up in my downloaded list but then the update worked fine

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. Zepius

    Zepius Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i remember correctly, greg puts the new apk on his website, which is where the script points. if he hasnt uploaded it, it wouldnt work.
     
  12. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm on 5.0.2 and I'm unable to update LP as well. I deleted it via TB an attempted to install with the apk file available on the LP website. Is there anyway someone could maybe make an update.zip file for maybe a easier way to do it?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

will there be an update for pro launcher pe