Latitude, GPS, Google Map question

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by TheVanDams, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. TheVanDams
    Offline

    TheVanDams New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I got my droid a few weeks ago and just got my husband one the other day. My nephew has one too. We all have latitude installed. My location and my nephews is always updating but my husbands doesnt. I am looking at his location now and it hasnt been updated in 18 hours. I went through his settings and it is on. Nothing is blocked. It says to show best location or whatever.

    It will update (we think) when he opens the program on his phone, only.

    Is it because his task killer is killing the application? This would make sense, except i have the same task killer and mine is still updating as is my nephew's.

    What are we doing wrong? I know he isnt hiding from me, by the way. :)

    Thanks.
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    If task killer is killing the app then yes, and btw you really don't need task killer. It's been known to cause problems with peoples phones. Let me get you a link.
     
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
  4. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and you've verified that the task killers are set the same way on all devices? Just having the same task killer doesn't mean anything in and of itself. I'd recommend removing it for troubleshooting. In general, you're better off removing unknowns/variables when trying to resolve an issue.
     
  5. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I wonder how long before people stop saying that an app killer isn't needed. In some instances yes, it's not needed. App killers aren't the end all to your problems. I have one, use it everyday, never had an issue with my phone, and i get pretty good battery life. Have I "HAD" to use it before to shut down an app, yes. I'd rather have the program and the ability to stop an app if i need to, then if i'm having an issue, just restart the phone.

    If you have an app killer, you need to make sure that latitude is not a program that is on it's list to be killed. Some programs will still show as running even though you've killed part of it. Case in point, is the alarm clock. You can kill that with an app killer, but it still shows that it is running, it just won't go off in the morning when you need it to, ;).
     
  6. Ghost Rider
    Offline

    Ghost Rider New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same issue with 3 of the 5 droid's my family has. 2 of the droids I did the manual update to and the third was an OTA update. I used the full manual update that was a complete install. The google latitude will not update the location of these phones unless the app is opened and then the location stays at that update. On my phone they show as stale friends until I call and ask them to open the app. I have done battery pulls and reboots. Still same problem.dancedroid
     
Search tags for this page
google latitude stale location
,
latitude stale friends
,
latitude stale location
,
stale location
,
stale location latitude
,
stale location means
,
stale location on latitude
,

what does stale location mean

,
what does stale location mean on google latitude
,
what does stale location mean on latitude