1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Latest Froyo Build made my Marketplace practically unusable

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Womp, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Installed the latest stock Froyo build the other day, works fantastic except for this one issue.

    I installed the fix update.zip which made my premium apps appear such as TapaTalk Pro etc and I've also tried clearing my cache.

    The Marketplace is so damned unbearably slow that it is practically useless and if anyone has any ideas I would love to get some help. Doing a search brings up the above fixes from the older builds but they aren't fixing this horrific speed issue. Every time I try to go into something I am presented with a white 'loading' screen that sits for about 1-2 minutes, from selecting, to installing to OK'ing the install this happens. It's excruciating.

    Thanks. :)
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Mine was very slow when I installed the rooted "more froyo".

    It was still slow when I installed the market fix.

    It was still slow when I installed SS4.1 and then the market didn't work for a bunch of people one evening for 30 minutes or so. The next morning it was as fast as it was before. I assumed they fixed something in the market. It wasn't slow until I moved from sg6.0 to froyo. It is not slow now but I did nothing on my end to fix it.

    You have a backup? Make one now, roll back, see if its still slow. Flash back to what you are using now and see if it is still slow. Try a couple other roms. Wish I had something more specific for you other than "it shouldn't be that way for you"

    When I went to ss4.12 I did not install any market update/fix, btw.
  3. erikfig
    Offline

    erikfig New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Working like a charm here!!!!! ;)
  4. brando56894
    Offline

    brando56894 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I noticed this too on the FRF84B release, I flashed petes BBv0.4 two days ago and it wouldnt install anything! I let it sync over night and when I woke up 5 apps had been synced and another 5 were in the "installing" state for hours, I didnt have time to mess with it so I flashed my Kangerade backup :)
  5. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I didn't have this problem with BB 0.1 however I have been on this new stock Froyo for a couple days now and I don't know what the factor is between the two causing the difference of working and not.
  6. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    I'm running froyo built from source and the market works like a champ.
  7. Anomander
    Offline

    Anomander New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Updated to the newest Froyo build last night and no problems with the Marketplace at all.
  8. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Market works perfectly with Pete's BB 0.4 Froyo FRF84B. Using CM Recovery I formatted system, data, cache, and boot 3 times each and installed the rom. I let the phone sit about 30 minutes after booting and all my paid and free apps restored automatically. Set up my screens and made LauncherPro the default and all is perfect.
  9. nyijedi
    Offline

    nyijedi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also had the slow/unusable market with both BB 0.4 and the latest clean froyo build. And it wasn't from syncing - it was slow days later after all syncing was completed. I'm back on 1.1 for now.
  10. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Yeah, see everything synced fine...The phone has sat and sat, nothing helps. It is really weird that even 3 days later the Marketplace is still acting this way for me.

    I may pop BB 0.4 on later.

    My plan was to go to stock in preparation for handing my Droid over to my wife since I'll be getting a Droid X on the 15th and I just wanted a stable working Froyo ROM on it. I really didn't want to shove a custom ROM on there and have her find any issues - I don't feel like having to 'fix' any problems daily especially since she is coming from a Berry. :p

    If the Marketplace is going to be pulling this BS though it isn't going to fly. heh.
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Try this file to fix the Market place. It will make your Droid appear to be working as 2.1.
  12. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've noticed this everytime a new build leaks out for the Droid. My theory is that so many people are wiping their phones to install the leak that the servers get overloaded from all the download traffic. Especially with Froyo builds where the app sync is automatically initiated in the background. It always seems to get back to normal after a few days.
  13. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Is this the same fix that Gill posted way back?

    If it is, as I said, I already used it. It worked in that it made my missing apps appear in the Marketplace however it did nothing to fix the speed or usage. :/
Search tags for this page

fro yo marketplace