Latest Fennec Alpha is Now Available

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Shadez, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,424
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    A bit more than a week ago, we reported that Fennec was heading into the 2.0 version of its alpha stages. While nightly builds of the Android version had been available before, only the Nokia N900 version of the mobile browser had gotten a stable Alpha distribution (yes, I know that makes no sense, but it’s the only way I see fit to describe it as it’s technically been in alpha development for months now).


    [​IMG]


    Mozilla’s hosting a full changelog over at their site, so be sure to head over there to see what’s new with this compared to the nightlies. Don’t forget that this is alpha so you’re bound to run into bugs. Once that happens, be sure to drop Mozilla a line to let them know (that’s if they aren’t already aware). Visit this link from your Android phone to get started.


    Latest Fennec Alpha is Now Available | Android Phone Fans
     
  2. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downloading now and will see how it runs compared to the initial release they had a while back which was a horror show. Will report back if it's worth the hassle.

    EDIT: Aside from having to use ADB to install the damned thing with the install -s command to install to SD it installed cleanly. Launched it and waited.. waited... waited... Comes up and welcome to Fennec. SLOW AS ALL HELL at 1 Ghz on my Droid running BB v0.4. Like holy crap slow. REALLY FREAKING SLOW. Seriously not worth the time or effort yet to even download and try it. Stick with the stock browser or Dolphin. This thing is faster than the first Alpha release but is still a PIG.
     
    #2 Darkseider, Aug 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  3. PhoenixGTR

    PhoenixGTR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interestingly, it wouldn't download properly in Dolphin ; I had to use the stock browser. Second time Dolphin has acted up today, which is why this thread caught my eye, aside from being a longtime Firefox user.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't even bother. Seriously. I understand it is an Alpha build but FFS it is larger than the x86 download for the latest version that runs on Linux. Yeah I know it has debug code and all that jazz in it but this is a mobile device after all. The fact that it is this damned huge for an .apk not to mention 28 or so megs after install!? Come on. Time to put the Fox for Android on a diet.
     
  5. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Horrible. The whole project has been.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    HOLY CRAP! This thing is now beyond horrible! The cache/data it creates on initial run is 5.28 Meg. To top it all off it throw that in the phones memory and NOT the SD Card. Uninstalling now. JUNK.
     
  7. PhoenixGTR

    PhoenixGTR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And I thought it was just cos I have a D1 and it needed a faster CPU or more memory.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Epic, er I mean alpha fail.

    I hate to say it but they need to get their act together quickly.
     
  9. misterSelf

    misterSelf Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it's Alpha, but this is pure fail...and slow as an ant walking through molasses.
     
  10. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    (stays with Skyfire...)
     
  11. Jer

    Jer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google just needs to buy Dolphin, make it fast again like it used to be before the devs began sacrificing speed for features and call it Fennec. Job well done!

    Until then, I'll just stick with the stock browser.
     
  12. victorythagr8

    victorythagr8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    why yall complaining about an alpha build. Alpha build always a terrible.