Lapdock 500 Webtop 3.0 Tips & Tricks

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Accessories' started by Fall, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. pftwanger

    pftwanger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey Tis and JB:

    Tis, if you're really going to get a RAZR M soon then you're wise to wait for verification of compatibility. It's very possible that Moto has something else up their sleeves. Although it's easy enough to get extender cables to mate the HDMI and USB connections, that might not be the issue. We tend to forget that the Webtop application actually resides on a partition on the RAZR's primary internal SD card. It's very possible that they won't even include it on future RAZRs.

    Food for thought:

    Like you, I also have a tablet (Toshiba Excite 10). It's wireless only. What I am most thrilled about with the Lapdock is the idea that I can use it anywhere without worrying about finding a hotspot. The other great thing is the real keyboard, which makes e-mail and other document-intensive activities way better than doing them on the excite. When I finally replace the RAZR, I'll still have what amounts to an ICS tablet with a keyboard by using my RAZR on wi-fi--exactly the way I use the Excite 10 now. It's like getting a very well made wi-fi HD ICS tablet for $50.

    JB and Tis: Like you, I'm devoting an unusually large amount of time with my parents these days. It sounds like we're in the same age demographic here!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. jaybogg

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +18
  3. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    3,154
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,460
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Wow, I suspected something was up when they started selling the 500 for $150 early this year, went out of stock within days and then they were never available again.

    I would bet that there will be ways to utilize webtop on future phones and with JB by rooting your phone. This also explains why the Razr M and Razr HD's will not be compatible with the lapdocks. But again, I bet you could add webtop on them if rooted.

    One question, does the lapdock connect via the micro USB/charging port or via the HDMI port? If through the micro USB, I still may get the lapdock with the idea that I might be able to use it on a rooted Razr M.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  4. jaybogg

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +18
    It uses the dual connection like the car docks and HD docks. One cable with two fixed jacks that connects to both ports. I am rooted and also am wondering if I loaded webtop on Jellybean if it would work, or is tied to ICS. I have read that Jb is like a layer on top of the ICS kernel so it may not matter. As for the ability to connect, I saw a video on Youtube of someone running webtop rooted and aparently, all he was hooking up was the HDMI cable. That's about all I know so far, hope it helps ya Tis.
     
  5. pftwanger

    pftwanger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Guys, all you need to run webtop is a micro-HDMI to HDMI cable. I've done it on my high-def TV several times. No Lapdock or HD Dock required, although I own both, BTW. JB, I've got to read the link you posted. That story answers our pricing questions, for sure. My suspicion is that they realized that it was eating into possible future tablet sales.

    Speaking as a guy who never throws out his old stuff--my OG Droid is serving as my wi-fi "Ipod killer" these days--I have every intention of continuing to use my OG RAZR as an ICS "tablet with a keyboard" long after the RAZR itself is discontinued.

    I'm stuck at Miami airport right now on an 8-hour layover and using it to type this response.
     
  6. brom

    brom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Ratings:
    +6
    I use the bionic dock and run xbmc for android on it and use my OG droid as remote its a cool setup for sure.
    I also use Paragon NTFS&HFS+ app to use more usb flash drives and usb Hard Drives.
    Super Video & Floating Browser apps are also very nice... these let you watch videos and surf the web and the same time.
    (I hate the floating browser icon :mad:)

    Thanks for the hint about widgets....


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. pftwanger

    pftwanger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Brom, now you're just showing off!

    JB, I just read that very well written article. The site is now on my bookmark list Great find. Thanks!
     
  8. NCCamper

    NCCamper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,
    I called all the local VZW stores around here, and they are all out of the Lapdock 100. One store did find one in a store in a city 60 miles away, and are having it shipped there by Thursday. I guess I was just in time to get in on the $50 deal. I have a Razr Maxx with ICS. Should I expect any problems with Webtop 3.0? I see where some have big problems with 2.0 vs 3.0, and others think it is great. Also, I wonder if these will still work after the eventual JB upgrade?

    Thanks,
    John
     
  9. brom

    brom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Ratings:
    +6
    One more thing you can do I have a Microsoft USB lifecam and it works for Skype.. lol that's all I am done showing off :D

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. bocabean

    bocabean Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +7
    Jaybogg,

    I must apologize about the Home Premium thing. There is actually another way that PocketCloud can work with Home Premium, I think that it is VNC. In any event, I also have another computer that runs Home Premium, however I have given up on it, not because of Home Premium, but because of Norton 360. The Firewall/AV program simply will not allow PC to function, even though the PC guys keep trying to have me attempt to do different things. I guess that the non-functionality may not be sitting well with their new owners...DELL!

    Well it hasn't made me especially happy either. It does work fine on Win 7 Pro. Nevertheless, I hope that PC Remote is doing the job for you.

    Now my larger concern is what exactly is going on with Google, Motororola, Verizon, etc. with respect to Webtop 3.0? I am reading that it is going away, but what is going to replace it? I am really starting to get nervous and PO'ed because less than three months ago I walked into a Verizon owned store, saw the Razr Maxx and the Lapdock 500 and thought that they were the perfect solution for what I needed. Before I could even get started, some of the functionality that was demonstrated in the store disappeared with the birth of ICS/3.0 Webtop. So what's up with this kind of promotion? Am I the only one that is afraid that I spent money on a soon to be boat anchor? I get the feeling sometimes that having bought a smart phone way back when was a dumb idea. One can almost see the obsolescence dripping off of devices as they sit on display in store shelves.
     
  11. thebeeobee

    thebeeobee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was lucky enough to get a lapdock 100 today!

    The trackad is a nightmare...that's basically my only fault with it. Someone mentioned the "trackpad settings" on the 500...do these also exist on the 100? Where can I access those settings?

    So far, very pleased! Thanks for any help!

    EDIT: Found the settings under Languages & Input. Changing the trackpad speed made a huge difference.

    2nd EDIT: Finally tried a mouse...such a huge difference! Scrolling is really janky with the trackpad...with a mouse, things are so much smoother. So happy getting the Lapdock for $50.
     
  12. jaybogg

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +18
    I've done various google searches on Webtop 3.0 and there is surprisingly very little about it other than the press releases and previews from Apr-Jul this year which all read about the same, very generic and little detail. I too hang on to way too much, but I think this was a good find from my initial impressions. More reason I feel we will have to support each other as I predict these devices will have niche following very quickly
     
Search tags for this page
how to use webtop 3.0
,

lapdock 500

,
lapdock 500 compatible phones
,
lapdock 500 repair
,
lapdock settings
,
lapdock wallpaper
,
razr m lapdock
,
webtop
,

webtop 3.0

,
webtop 3.0 tips