Lag

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by jedi, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. jedi

    jedi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I seem to be noticing this more (maybe its just starting to get under my skin, which it is) particularly when first turning on the display.
    I select an icon, Text for example, and it can literally take up to 3 seconds to actually open.

    It gets better and appears to "wake up" so thinking it may have something to do with smart actions going from activated to inactivated.

    I was using GO launcher and uninstalled that thinking it was the culprit. It was not. I also, relatively speaking, have a rather simple layout and few apps.

    Are others experiencing response lag like this?
     
  2. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    The Razr is typically pretty snappy, so you have something going on there. Here is what I would do to trouble shoot the issue: Uninstall or force close all widgets that you have on our home screens...all of them. Disable all smart actions. Power off your phone. Reboot and see if the problem persist. If the problem does not persist then one of the widgets/apps you have running is causing the problem. Add them back one at a time until you find the culprit. If the problem persist then I'd recommend doing a factory reset to "clean" the system and get back to a fresh install.
    EDIT: There is one other thing you can try before you do a factory reset...go to menu>settings>applications>messages and clear data and cache. Then see if the problem persist.
     
  3. rpittillo

    rpittillo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mine is too. And sometimes when I turn on my screen after being on 'standby' the screen will flash. But yeah the smart actions seem to put all icons and apps asleep. Do you loose your icon pics? Like DF on screen. Wake up my phone and pic will be blue square.
    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +416
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I noticed when I used Smart Actions I would have some lag either unlocking my screen for a brief second after the unlock. I stopped using and disabled Smart Actions and never seen the issue return.
     
  5. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    I don't use smart actions. From what you guys are saying it sounds as if smart actions may be the culprit.
     
  6. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +416
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Yeah it is kind of like the start-up folder on your computer, you have to know programs set to start as soon as the computer comes on will cause some slow down. Same thing here with SA, it is setup to do a certain list of things when the screen is activated. In my case it was turning WIFI, cell data, and background sync, so you have to image that will cause a small hiccup. Smart actions are great and can definitely make your battery last longer, just not worth it in the long run for me.
     
  7. Zandar

    Zandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    I don't have this issue running stock with GO Launcher. Try running without Smart Actions. Also, try restarting your phone. Do you have a lot of apps that use background services? Many apps are coded by special needs monkeys, it seems, so they really, really poorly use resources. If all else fails, restart in safe mode and see if that improves things. If it doesn't, you have an OS or hardware issue. The solutions there would be to reload the current ROM (see other threads on how to load up stock firmware) and see if that helps. If not, it's hardware and you'll need to do an exchange. These two things, though, are very unlikely.

    What's more likely is that doing a safe mode restart will show marked improvement in response time. This means you got an app or two coded by aforementioned special needs monkeys. The best thing to do would be to install some monitoring software (aLogcat or something similar) to see what's misbehaving. If you lack the technical know-how for this, you can always do the failproof method: factory reset and re-install apps one by one. When you start to get your lag back, you know the last app installed is the culprit. Downside to this, though, is that it takes forever and is very labour intensive. I recommend getting to know aLogcat and then killing whatever apps are misbehaving (not via a TaskKiler; uninstall the bugers and find better apps, which you should be able to do with ~500,000 apps in the Play Store).

    Happy hunting!
     
  8. Lolee71

    Lolee71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My droid x2 is so slow when trying to make a call. I hit contact and select the number to call and my phone will become unresponsive some times taking up to 5 minutes to place the call. Heaven forbid I tap call more than once because my phone will place the same phone call over and over. Most of the time I get so aggravated waiting that I use my boyfriends $15 phone to make the phone call. Does anyone else have this problem and is there anything I can do to fix this?

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Droid Forums
     
  9. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,900
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +365
    Turn your phone off. With it off holds volume down + power until "fast boot" appears at the top of your screen. Then press volume down 7 times until "android recovery" is at the top. Press volume up once to select it. Now at the next screen press volume up + volume down together. In here scroll down using the volume key and wipe cache partition with power. Then reboot, see if that helps. If not a data wipe/factory reset may clear it up but this will cause you to lose all data etc and will basically return your phone to an "out of the box" state.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  10. Lolee71

    Lolee71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That did not help but I really appreciate you teaching me how to do that. When I completed all if the steps without messing my phone up I actually had a big head for a second because felt like for once I was smart enough to own a smart phone. I have had to do a factory reset on it once before and it sucked so I an going to put it off a little longer. Thanx again that was great!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Droid Forums
     
  11. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    first you should post in DX2 forum, this is D2

    some lag is just part of moto phones, but there could be a hardware issue, not much you can do about that, unless you have a warranty or willing to take apart

    could be software, if factory reset didn't fix, you could try flashing a .sbf factory image file.
    factory reset, only wiped user data, and resets factory defaults, if a system file is missing, reset may not fix that
    or you could root, and flash eclipse 2.3, and will run better than stock
    learn how to flash sbf with rsd lite HowTo: Perform a SBF ("factory restore") of your Motorola Droid X2
    watch a video about it How to video's. sbf, root, nandroid backup, and restore
    use 2.3.5/1.3.418 sbf and RSD Lite 5.7 my instructions


    if you want to root use [How To] Root 2.3.5/1.3.418
    HowTo: Perform a bootstrap (or nandroid) backup and recovery of X2

    and many more links in my list
    sd_shadow's [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - Google Docs

    e
    dit: of course you should check, menu/settings/about phone/ system version is it 1.3.418...? if not please post what it is
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  12. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,600
    Likes Received:
    716
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +738
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Moved to Droid X2 forum

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
Similar Threads
  1. dezymond
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,638
  2. modified
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    600
  3. haxerpaylay
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,123
  4. pctdavis
    Replies:
    27
    Views:
    3,859
  5. EspoMan
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,870
Loading...
Search tags for this page

droid razr lag

,
droid razr lag spiking
,

droid razr maxx lag

,

droid x2 slow to make calls

,
motorola razr lags
,
my droid x2 lags
,
razr lag
,
takes long time for call to connect on my droid x2
,
why does my droid razr maxx lag
,
why is my droid x2 lagging