Keypad disappears during a call

Discussion in 'Samsung Droid Charge' started by kevinkidder, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. kevinkidder
    Offline

    kevinkidder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi!

    I have noticed that when I make a call, and need to use the keypad, the screen automatically goes black, not giving me time to use the keypad. I know that the screen lock is a feature to keep me from face dialing, but how does that work exactly? This happens mostly when I am calling voicemail and don't bring the phone to my face.

    Any info is appreciated!

    Please excuse the autocorrect errors.

    Kevin

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  2. CTownDroid
    Offline

    CTownDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    What is your screen timeout set to? If its only 15 or 30 seconds you will have that problem, I changed mine to 1 minute.
  3. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    its not that i dont believe, mine used to do the exact same thing, soon as the call connects the screen goes off.
    not sure how i fixed it but it doesnt do that any more
  4. Tuna61
    Offline

    Tuna61 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am 90% sure the phone uses the light sensor (top right of glass front right next to the ear speaker) to determine whether to turn screen off or not. Just make sure that area is getting plenty of light and it won't be an issue.
    I have same issue in a dark room..but not a lot you can do about that. Hopefully they will tweak the sensativity in the next update


    sent from Samsung Droid Charge
  5. kevinkidder
    Offline

    kevinkidder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you everyone got your replies and help. My screen timeout is set for 2 minutes, so I am pretty sure that isn't the issue. I see the sensor, so perhaps it is a light variation more than just the detection of light? I will try to cover the sensor then uncover it to see if that makes a difference.

    I have also seen threads reporting that popping the battery helped, although I don't see how. And success with that?

    Kevin

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  6. jairzinho
    Offline

    jairzinho New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having trouble with that, too. It's not related to screen timeout time. It has to do with the proximity sensor. I guess when it's up near your face during a call, you wouldn't want the on-screen buttons to get pressed.

    It's really frustrating when you're trying to hit keys during a call, though. The sensor turns off the screen so I can't hit the keys I want to hit.

    Anyone know how to modify this possibly?
  7. expidia
    Offline

    expidia New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    The proximity sensor takes control "after" you press "green call button" or is connected. Once you are connected the screen goes black. This also saves the battery. To use keypad simply pull the phone away from your ear and it lits up so you can type in extension digits etc.

    It's confusing because if you are blocking the sensor with your finger, the screen stays black. If you are in a dimly lit car or in the car at night or just turn on the overhead light. Once you get used to how it works, you won't give it a second thought anymore.

    If the phone was on your ear how could you type in digits anyway. As soon as you move it away from ear, it lights right back up.
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
  8. kevinkidder
    Offline

    kevinkidder New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you expidia! That helps a lot!

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  9. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    There's an option in the settings that allow you to choose when to show the dialpad....the options are SERVICE NUMBERS or ALL CALLS.

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
  10. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i have never seen that option, just scanned every menu to confirm.
  11. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I was just in that menu lol...SETTINGS>CALL SETTINGS>SHOW DIALPAD

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
  12. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
  13. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Weird. I would think all android devices have that seeting as it has been on all devices I have owned.

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
  14. expidia
    Offline

    expidia New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ummm, maybe that setting is in the Droid 3 or a rooted Droid Charge, but I don't see it in my stock OS as the other poster has said???
  15. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    root has nothing to do with the menu....
  16. expidia
    Offline

    expidia New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Do you see the setting the above poster is referring to?

    My Charge looks the same as the pic he posted, but I don't see the "show dialpad" setting in his pic either.

    I personally don't have any issues with my proximity sensor. It works as it should. I was just trying to help out the OP as I didn't see that setting on my Charge either!
  17. Kimmrg
    Offline

    Kimmrg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, granted I am a very newbie (2 days), can you give me a little more info? My keyboard disappears just like explained here. I call voice mail, and to enter my password, 4 numbers, it lets me enter 2, then goes away. Any suggestions besides these? Thanks much
  18. latebloomer
    Offline

    latebloomer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the deal for getting around the problem of inputting passwords and numbers when you make a phone call. It's not going to be ideal however. Turn on speakerphone and then it will no longer turn off the display at all. But it would be nice if there were a more complete fix for this problem.
  19. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i agree with your first post and was simply clarifying that root does not change menu's in the other one, so were all gud :)
  20. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    its a software issue i believe, be sure nothing (including you fingers :) ) are over the top right of the screen where the sensors are.
    i dont have this issue on GB. testing, i can move my finger over and away from the sensors and the screen promptly goes on and off respectively.
Search tags for this page

android call screen disappears

,

android dial pad disappears

,
android how to use keypad during call
,
android keypad disappears during call
,

android phone keypad disappears

,

dial pad disappears android

,
droid charge keypad disappears
,

droid dial pad disappears

,
galaxy s3 keypad disappears
,

galaxy s3 keypad disappears during calls

,

keypad disappears during call

,
keypad disappears on samsung galaxy s3
,
samsung charge dial pad disappears
,

samsung galaxy s3 dial pad disappears

,

samsung galaxy s3 keypad disappears