Keyboard Issues

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by OneTenderRebel, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Ok so I feel like a total boob (yes I called myself a boob) for not knowing how to fix this issue but here is what I got....

    Ok so both the stock android keyboard and my HTC ime keyboard are doing this whenever I try to type text into a field. You know how when you type text into a field it will pull up a dedicated magnified box to type in, well mine is not doing that, it is trying to type in the box that is actually on the webpage which makes it difficult to see and sometimes impossible to see what I am typing. I have looked all through the keyboard settings and can't seem to find any sort of setting to remedy the problem. Any help here would be greatly appreciated. This is on the touchscreen keyboard not the physical one btw.
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    anyone? Bueller, Bueller?
     
  3. alucard9114

    alucard9114 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San diego Cali baby
    Ratings:
    +2
    sorry for being off subject but cant find the answer anywhere how do you change
    the keyboard?
     
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    you mean install the HTC keyboard on your droid? It's pretty simple actually, are you rooted? If so there is a great website you can create your own keyboard. http://www.gimpsta.com/themer/ register and you can download your keyboard and place it on the sd card and use an app like astro to install it.
     
  5. alucard9114

    alucard9114 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San diego Cali baby
    Ratings:
    +2
    No i hate the htc keyboard.I am trying to get rid of it thanks for the website
    im on ultimate droid 5 rooted
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  6. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Sorry to bump this again but this issue is driving me insanse. I really don't want to have to do a factory reset just to fix this unless it is my last case scenario.
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Mine does this in portrait. If I switch to landscape I get the dedicated box you describe. I'm running stock 2.1 atm so not sure if there is a fix.

    Sent from my Droid using interplanetary communications that neither you or I could possibly understand. Cheers.