Keyboard issues

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by x25064, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone else have keyboard lag issues? Not so much with the stock keyboard but any third party keyboard (smart keyboard pro). Anyone noticed that its highly inaccurate even when your hitting the keys exactly?

    Its weird, when I factory reset the problem doesn't exist right away.. its about a day into usage that it will begin to appear.

    Wondering if anyone else has this issue, its with all roms for me as well.



    And don't come in saying how well AI keyboard works, that's not solving my problem.
  2. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'm stock, no root, and use SwiftKey X without problems. It's not a swype keyboard but uses predictive technology which is very accurate.
  3. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Well maybe your problem is root. "And don't come in saying..." seriously dude...if you're not interested in feedback then don't ask for it. As far as I know this is an open forum...you're going to get what you get. I have root, use ThumbKey Board on the Eclipse ROM and have never experienced your problem.
  4. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Every keyboard issue thread someone comes in saying how great AI keyboard is, and completely skirts the actual issue at hand.

    Currently AI keyboard is the worst offender, where key presses show but half the letters type out.

    Now, back to the issue at hand:

    Do I have a bad screen? When I view blacks on my screen (namely blackSOD) I can see almost what looks like LCD bleeding. I am wondering if this is the cause. It is not visible on anything except a black and lit screen. The phone is brand new. Should I exchange it?
  5. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    I've seen a number of threads from Razr owners reporting what you have described...blotches that are only visible in a dim light and on a pure black background. I have the same blotches on mind. I'm not sure this would cause the keyboard problem you describe. Other users reporting the blotches don't also report a keyboard issue. Question...does the stock keyboard behave the same? Since the touch screen technology is "thermal" dependent, in other words a difference in temperature between the screen and the tip of your finger, your screen seems to be responding to that thermal difference but the software is interpreting your selection incorrectly....does that make sense? I have no idea if root would make a difference in that case. Here is one option...unroot, do a Factory Reset (I know that is not good news) and use the stock keyboard. If the problem persist then take the phone back to Verizon. Please, don't take your phone into if rooted and no Factory Reset has been performed...Factory Reset is the first thing they'll want you to do most likely.
  6. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Since you're rooted you might want to check in the hacks page of this forum, if you haven't already, for other Razr users experiencing the same issue. The DroidRazr forum has a lot of rooted members, you might want to check there also.
  7. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. The stock keyboard also had this issue to a certain extent. It is far less than the after market keyboards and the auto correct is more intuitive.

    I will try a factory reset and staying unrooted and see if that helps. If anything I will unroot and return this to Verizon.

    The thermal software interpretation does make sense, I almost wonder if rooting breaks this or not.
  8. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Good luck. I know the Factory Reset is a FIA, hopefully that will clean up what ever is causing the issue. Let us know how it goes.
  9. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the meantime I was not able to locate the threads you are referring to in the hacks section. It could be that I can't find the threads because I'm using the DF app.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Here you go: Droid RAZR Hacks
  11. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can see that I just can't find any threads within it that discuss my issue.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  12. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Try DroidRazr.com
  13. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
  14. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that link didn't work but even when searching that site I only found one thread related to my issue and there was no explanation or resolution.

    It seems like after searching a not in Google that this issue is more related to a compatibility issue with the razr and most keyboards. It seems in anything except stock, the multitouch function doesn't work well.
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  15. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope this helps. I am lucky enough that the blotches are confined to one small "slash" at the bottom left. So no way it interferes with keyboard letters. I have experienced occasional minor lag on the stock keyboard unrooted. I don't think the blotches are the problem. The lag I experience is so slight (2 or 3 letters) and so infrequent that it doesn't bother me......yet.
    Keep us posted on your search progress and I hope you get it resolved.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  16. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've just been using stock which is getting laggier for me. I don't know what the deal is with this but my droid x is more responsive at this point.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  17. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just flashed to unrooted and it seems to be better but I can't confirm yet.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  18. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Issue not solved. Idk what else to do. Its the phone apparently.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  19. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I am rooted and using the stock keyboard and the only issue I have is pretty much every time I type "ing" at the end of a word it automatically put a " g" so it will read for instance "having g". So that is pretty annoying, and sometimes it won't auto cap the "I". But I don't have lag so I don't think root is your problem, course I could be wrong.
  20. Zandar
    Offline

    Zandar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stock/not rooted. No lag issues here (I use only Swype), just FYI.
Search tags for this page
do droid razor have a keyboard
,
droid 3 keyboard issues#gsc.tab
,
droid 3 screen only visible when keyboard is partway open
,

droid pro keyboard problems

,
droid razr inaccurate keyboard
,
droid razr keyboard issues
,

droid razr keyboard lag

,

droid razr keyboard problems

,
keyboard issue with driod zazr m
,
motorola droid razr keyboard issues
,
motorola droid razr maxx swype keyboard error or no keyboard
,
motorola razr swype keyboard problems
,
razr m keyboord issue