1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Keyboard issue with GB

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by kevinkar, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was going to continue this in an existing GB issues thread but don't see anyone responding to what I posted there and decided to make it a separate thread.

    The old keyboard allowed a long press on the period key to bring up the two rows of additional choices and I could lift my thumb and reach over to the key I wanted and the pop up stayed there until I selected.

    The new GB keyboard will bring up the two row pop up but the top row already has a key highlighted and when I lift my thumb to select the key I want, it instead selects the punctuation mark that was highlighted and the pop up disappears.

    I can slide to the left if I keep my thumb pressed against the screen but I can not get down to the lower row unless I drag my thumb WAY to the bottom of the screen which is not quite right. Either way, the new pop up will immediately disappear and select the wrong key all the time if I lift my thumb.

    Does anyone who uses the stock keyboard/input experience this too or am I the only one? Swype and FlexT9 input methods both work properly. Just the stock keyboard is screwed up.

    Anyone?
  2. jgm865
    Offline

    jgm865 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for posting this issue.

    The top row is available as it is for you--but only if I do not lift my finger from the screen. If I lift the finger at at all, I get "+". This is different from before GB. Before GB, long pressing "." gave the opportunity to lift the finger, both rows remaining as options, and then I could select from either row. As you describe, with GB, the bottom row is not accessible at all.

    Have you found a resolution, by chance?
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  3. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a different set of problems with the keyboard in GB.

    When im typing pressing "space" sometimes include a whole new word and its EXTREMELY annoying. Then to erase I have to press "backspace" 3x instead of twice, for some reason there's always an invisible character there. That's the best I can explain it. Also double pressing "space" will not include the period mark. It will just throw something random out. Its extremely annoying to type with, is there any fix?
  4. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortunately no. It still acts the same and is very annoying every time I use it because it forces me to think about what I'm doing (forcefully keep my finger on the screen - DON'T LIFT! - and drag it to the extreme lower edge to get to the lower row to select the right punctuation.

    It must be a bug otherwise everyone would be complaining about it.

    So, I'm getting very close to hard resetting to see if that fixes it. I've got to figure out how to save apps that no longer exist in the market because I don't really want to lose them. The keyboard seems worse though so I'll probably just do it. Ugh.
  5. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this just the predictive text feature selecting a word you don't want because you hit the SPACEBAR too soon?

    When you type, the predictive text will show up with other selections available but the current default one highlighted. If you hit SPACE before you are done typing the entire word, that's what will show up. You can of course select one of the other choices if the are what you really want.

    Try it again and type slowly and watch what you are doing. You may just be accidentally hitting SPACE too early.
  6. untoothedyouth
    Offline

    untoothedyouth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree. The new keyboard STINKS. I was getting really good and fast on the old one then bam they go and monkey with it. Its seems that they raised the sensitivity for the space bar up. Try it. Keep pressing the space bar and slowly raise your finger upon each press. I find I'm a quarter of the way into the C V B keys before it stops hitting space! And that annoying "don't lift" feature is on the emoticons as well. Not good.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. Marky Mark
    Offline

    Marky Mark New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty South
    I too hate this new keyboard..The letters seem closer together and makes for more errors..So I am assuming(not rooted) that there is no way to install another keyboard? Or is there a way to uninstall GB without a hard reset?
  8. hotrod6657
    Offline

    hotrod6657 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem. Just visited Verizon after doing a factory reset (the keyboard issue was still there). It took some explaining to get the person at the store to understand that this isn't just a "quirk" with gingerbread and that it's a problem. She actually opened up the full punctuation part of the keyboard and said "what's wrong with these?" like that had magically fixed the issue just because she found another place to get the key i wanted...

    Any way, I convinced them to ship me a refurbished phone. Should be here Wednesday (what with the holiday and all). We shall see how it goes. I really hope this is just an issue with my phone and not a more widespread Droid X issue.

    Side note, all the phones they had on display were still the previous OS version. I was tempted to update their X to gingerbread just to see if it worked right...

    Not every X is having this problem right?

    I'll post back when the new phone comes and in updated to gingerbread but I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it works...

    Here's my phone info, just in case we can figure out some similarity in the ones having this issue.

    System version: 4.5.596.MB810.Verizon.en.US
    Android version: 2.3.3
    Baseband version: BP_C_01.09.12P
    Kernel version: 2.6.32.9-g34b306d qgd748@il93lnxdroid09#1
    Build number: 4.5.1_57_DX5-26
    ERI version: 5
    PRL version: 52363

    It sure would be nice to narrow down what phones have this problem.
  9. hotrod6657
    Offline

    hotrod6657 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I know a reset doesn't really reset your phone to the way it was when you got it. You'll still be running gingerbread... It just clears all your settings, apps, caches, etc to help give you a fresh start.

    At least that's my impression of the factory reset option, could be wrong - it wouldn't be the first time. :)
  10. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Too bad a hard reset did not fix this annoying issue. I'm not convinced that every X does NOT have this problem more than it's just not an issue with some people. However, you are in a good position to confirm it on a second phone so please do post when you get the new phone.

    I've gotten used to forcing my thumb to stay on the screen, slide down all the way to the bottom of the screen to access the second row of keys and select the one I want. It's still very annoying to say the least when I forget to do this. It's just not working like it should/used to.
  11. hotrod6657
    Offline

    hotrod6657 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will post my results when my "new" phone arrives. Like I said, I'm hoping for the best... Just to be sure I'm reading your last correctly, are you saying that you think every X might be having this problem, but that it's just not something that others notice or are affected by (like if they use Swipe)? That's what I got from reading that but that sentence had like a double or triple negative ;) (just giving you a hard time)

    If the new phone does the same thing I'm going to be pretty displeased and might try to coax Verizon into letting me make a lateral move to a different phone that doesn't have the same issue.

    If it was simply an aesthetic change that bothered me it would be one thing, but this is an actual usability issue.

    Overall I really like the new OS though, which makes this issue all the more annoying lol
  12. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I have this exact issue as well. Also the spacebar sensitivity seams to change. Sometimes its super sensitive and I get a space before I touch the screen. Other times I have to apply a little pressure =\ I also have the issue with the punctuation.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. wyld
    Offline

    wyld New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When long pressing on the period for the double bar slide your finger a little bit farther down the screen? @!?

    Sent from my rooted GB DROID X 1.15 Ghz
  14. hotrod6657
    Offline

    hotrod6657 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To do what? That's how I'm able to get all of the keys on the bottom row of the punctuation menu that pops up but I still can't get that menu to stay open without holding my finger on the button and the selection on screen does not match the location of my finger.

    If I long press the period at the very bottom of the screen it doesn't select it. I have to be in the middle of the button and then, when the pop up opens, the + symbol is already selected...


    Hopefully the referb comes Wednesday and I can move on lol.
  15. wyld
    Offline

    wyld New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    keep your finger down on the screen slide back and forth and down to highlight the punctuation you want to use. my phone does the same thing and I use better keyboard 8

    Sent from my rooted GB DROID X 1.15 Ghz
  16. hotrod6657
    Offline

    hotrod6657 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what I've been doing but this is different than is used to be, and for the worse... Also, the key selected when I do this is off by about 1cm. For example, when I hold the button to open that menu it should either highlight none of the keys, or highlight the "," key based on where my finger is wrt the menu that opens. What it actually does is highlights the "+" key which is on the upper row. That means to even get the bottom row you have to push your finger all the way to the outer frame of the screen.

    If it's functioning as intended I'm not impressed and pretty upset about being "forced" in to using it. I would not have bought the phone if that's how the keyboard functioned, mostly because I would have assumed there was something wrong with it...
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  17. wyld
    Offline

    wyld New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it is a small bug with any update or rom there will be a few bugs I use better keyboard 8 it has all the punctuations across the top of the screen it works gtreat for me.

    Sent from my rooted GB DROID X 1.15 Ghz
  18. wyld
    Offline

    wyld New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Better keyboard 8
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my rooted GB DROID X 1.15 Ghz
  19. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you didn't not read that incorrectly. Or not. Or something like that...
    Now I'm confused.

    Actually you got what I was saying exactly.

    Sounds like Wyld has the same problem but is coping like I am but what I'd really like it to do is to behave the way it did before with the pop up punctuation menu STAYING open and not requiring me to slide my finger while pressing against the screen. After all, on a regular keyboard, I don't slide my fingers to type. To change this in this way is totally counterproductive and a change just for the sake of change!
  20. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you saying it acts the same way with "better keyboard 8" in that you have to keep your finger pressed against the screen AND you have to force yourself to slide your finger way along the bottom edge to select some punctuation?

    Just trying to make sure I read that correctly.
Search tags for this page

android keyboard keep disappear

,

i keep hittin the period on my phone keyboard