keyboard issue, shift key not working as is most punctuation

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by telivi, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. dfeuer

    dfeuer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I uninstalled Chrome updates and rebooted—no luck. The strange thing is that the keyboard works just fine in some apps (Firefox, Gmail, Google Plus, Droid Edit) while it doesn't work in others (non-URL-entry text fields in the standard browser, Chrome, and Dolphin). This is driving me nuts. I really wish I'd stuck with ICS....
     
  2. NeXtras

    NeXtras Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Saugus, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Same here, except my shift key hasnt been tempermental.. yet
     
  3. dfeuer

    dfeuer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Mine isn't temperamental—it always works in certain contexts and never in others. Where the shift key doesn't work, neither do the keyboard features that produce pop-ups—holding down a key to choose a symbol or hitting the symbol key.
     
  4. SparkleBunny

    SparkleBunny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you do that? None of the other suggestions have helped. My keyboard works fine everywhere except the browser.
     
  5. drush242

    drush242 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ohfercryinoutloud. My keyboard is odd too. Caps lock works fine, but basically the keyboard stays in capital mode for a second key press, and doesn't automatically revert to lower case. So I hit "shift", type the first letter of the word, hit shift again, type a letter (that will also be capitalized) then delete it and continue as normal. Well, until I have to hit the shift key again and the process repeats.

    So, 1) am I missing something for making "default" the default keyboard? Right now under "Language & Input", under "Default", the first thing under default is "English (US) - Android keyboard (ASOP)". There are then 3 sub-categories: "Android keyboard (ASOP)" which is set to "English (US)", "Google voice typing", set to "Automatic", and SwiftKey which is just checked.

    2) How do I confirm that omap4-keypad.kl file is owned by root? I can find it no problem, I don't see a way to confirm that root has it.

    Criminy, this is without a doubt the most irritating issue I have had since starting to root Motorola flip phones in 2004.

    Thanks all.
     
  6. SparkleBunny

    SparkleBunny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    scroll down farther to 'physical keyboard' and you'll see 'omap4-keypad.' click on it, and a box will pop up that says 'default' and then 'set up keyboard layouts.' if 'default' is selected, you're good. if not, click 'set up keyboard layouts' and a list will pop up. uncheck whatever is checked, and that will make it revert to default.
     
  7. kettlnaut

    kettlnaut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chrome updates uninstall worked for me

    Strange that worked for me also. Just got updated to JB it kinda hit me by surprise and I clicked the button without meaning to. Here we go again I thought. My last unit did not do well going from GB to ICS and I had to send the unit back in after I could no longer stand it. Got back an ICS stock unit and surprised that Flash was gone and kicked to the curb like a bad habit. Just love all these surprises!

    So yah reverting Chrome back to the factory version by uninstalling the updates click the menu button on the homescreen > manage apps > Installed apps find Chrome and open it. Click uninstall updates and confirm to revert the app back to the factory version. Now my shift key works like it did. Thanks goodness! This little flaw makes the most valuable part of the Droid 4 almost useless!

    I hope it doesn't jack it up again when I go re-update chrome LOL!
     
  8. NeoPhoenixTE

    NeoPhoenixTE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Ratings:
    +24
    This a problem that's been verified by a number of users. The inability to use shift without holding it down in Chrome has been present since ICS. This also means the SYM key has been useless.

    A new physical quirk has been the inability to type ; (semicolon) or : (colon) when hitting shift+, or shift+. respectively in any app whatsoever. It just ends up typing the < and > symbols respectively. Current workaround has been to use the on-screen keyboard, which totally defeats the purpose of a Qwerty keyboard.

    Now, if someone found a way to fix this mapping issue, then I'm all ears.

    I've followed the Chrome uninstall procedure (uninstalled, rebooted, re-updated), as well as ensured my input is set up properly (as per Cylence's post), so I'm honestly out of options from here short of modifying system files to correct the issue. Honestly, it's something that should've been handled during the Soak. I do know it was reported during the Soak, but the decision to roll with the patch as is went on regardless. :(
     
  9. dfeuer

    dfeuer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a factory reset, which cleared up the colon/semicolon problem, but didn't fix the shift/capslock/symbol problem that affects every browser I have except the still-primitive Firefox.
     
  10. SparkleBunny

    SparkleBunny New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the inadvertent tip! I installed Firefox and it works. Better than a new phone or using the virtual keyboard.
     
  11. billyg

    billyg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Disable chrome and shift button works

    I have been having the same annoying problem with the shift key and the annoying thing is that a reboot seems to fix the problem . . . for a while. I couldn't figure out what was stopping it until I read your posts on Chrome. Then I realized it was whenever my phone asked me if I wanted ot use the browser or chrome to open a website.

    I was going to remove the update, but realized that I didn't even have the update.

    Since I cannot remove Chrome from the phone, I just disabled it.

    So far . . . so good.
     
  12. kettlnaut

    kettlnaut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well for the record, I had chrome installed and updated to current on my ics rom, and shift worked fine in everything not just chrome. Then I updated to jb and had the issue with shift only but all else worked. Then I uninstalled the chrome updates and all was well with shift, and this was global throughout all apps not just restricted to chrome. In fact I don't even use chrome to be honest, never opened it once.

    So I forgot to uncheck the box for autoupdate and five minutes later my shift had to be held down again. Realized what happened, turned off the autoupdate just for chrome and uninstalled the updates and was back to things working again. Have not had issues with any other keys so far. So far everything else seems to have upgraded smoothly. Weird bug but luckily I don't care since I don't use chrome.
     
Search tags for this page
android keyboard shift key not working
,
android shift key
,
android update shift key not working
,
droid 4 keyboard shift not working
,

droid 4 shift key

,
droid 4 shift key fix
,

droid 4 shift key not working

,
droid shift key not working
,
shift key not working android
,
shift key on droid 4 not working