Kernel with CPU temp monitoring

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by junpar, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. junpar
    Offline

    junpar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, I'm posting this thread because many people have been asking for CPU temp monitoring on kernels...

    It actually has been available on P3droid's kernels. I am not sure if it is available on all of them, but I am running his 125-1000mhz LV kernel and I have CPU temp in setcpu along with battery temp.

    Sorry if everyone knows. Just wanting to help those people looking for CPU temp monitoring!

    Link: http://www.p3designs.info/kernels/

    Okay... well bummer, the temp monitor seems to get stuck in a few minutes after a reboot.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    ^^^^^^^^^ most of the threads asking for CPU temp monitoring are Froyo specific. Yes, P3 and others have had temp monitoring working for quite some time with 2.0.1 and 2.1 builds. But, even enabling it in the kernel before compiling doesn't work on Froyo.

    AFAIK, there are still no Froyo kernels with working temp. monitor; it just reports a false value that never changes.
     
  3. junpar
    Offline

    junpar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes there is. I am running Froyo with his 2.2 kernel.

    And by the way, the value does change.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
  4. rustynail09
    Offline

    rustynail09 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With setCPU, are you sure it is the kernal temp and not the battery temp? Reason I ask is that my setcpu shows a temp, but it is actually the battery temp (as verified by battery left with the bottom text set to temp). This really should not be confused with the cpu/kernal temp!
     
  5. junpar
    Offline

    junpar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. I am sure, there is a reason I said I can see both cpu and battery temp.
     
  6. lilcdroid
    Offline

    lilcdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, I've been using Chevy's for so long I just never ventured over to P3Droid's since the whole OMAP temps went missing. Thanks for the heads up. Works like a charm. And I can see my CPU temp on the SetCpu widget again. Yeah......dancedroid dancedroid dancedroid dancedroid
     
  7. junpar
    Offline

    junpar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay. I'm kind of dissapointed.. It only seems to work for the first minute or so. The value changes for the first few minutes after a boot-up and then gets stuck. T_T.
     
  8. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    P3 doesn't seem to post kernel revision dates on his website; but if you re-download an SV Froyo kernel and update, you will get functioning CPU temps. ;)
     
Search tags for this page
android+kernel+cpu temperature
,
kernel 3.0 cpu temperature
,

kernel cpu temp

,

kernel temperature monitoring