Kernel Suggestions?

umwhockey

Reaction score
So I am new to this whole thing and I am sure post from people like me are completely annoying, but here it is anyway. I installed BAMF Forever Cubed 1.0.7 and like it so far. I am new to roms and wasn't sure exactly about Kernel's and the advantages of them? What exactly do they do and is it worthwile to upgrade? If so, does anyone have any good suggestions and tips to install?

thanks for the help!

Reaction score
the kernel is the brain of your ROM. its what makes your ROM function. dev will usually include the kernel you need to run his ROM so flashing a different kernel is not necessary. the main reason people flash a new kernel is to try to get better battery life.
the dev includes the kernel that he feels works best for his ROM.

Sent from my SHIFTAO5P using DroidForums

droidDB

Reaction score
Funny that you should ask, I just started toying with kernels myself. I'll share my observations, but I don't know if they will apply to your phone. The two big advantages to flashing a different kernel are CPU speed and battery life. The kernel has to support the CPU speeds you are looking for. For my phone, the stock kernel will not allow anything above 600MHz. Other kernels will go well beyond that (I think 1300MHz for my phone, but I'm at 1100MHz). Some kernels will allow a minimum of 125MHz, others won't go below 300MHz. And, I think finally, the voltage of the kernel can be UltraLow, Low or Medium.

Here's what I believe the advantages of each to be: Lower voltages and lower CPU speeds translate to improved battery life. Higher CPU speeds (this I am certain of) mean improved performance.