Kernel help?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by uEih, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. uEih

    uEih New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi i just got an HTC Eris and i rooted it and have stock 2.1 and i wanted to overclock.. I downloaded setCPU and all i need is the kernel to overclock, i've downloaded numerous chevy kernels and none of them seem to work when i go to the recovery menu and select "Update.zip" from the change in name of the file. It all tells me it gets aborted. Can someone help me? Am i downloading the wrong ones or what's going on? I was using clockwork recovery and some other one i got from 1 Click Eris Root app.
     
  2. alpine

    alpine Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    :welcome: to the forums!

    None of the Chevy kernels will work because they're for a the Motorola Droid and not the HTC Droid Eris.

    To be honest I wouldn't know where to look to get overclocking kernels for the Eris, but I do know of a custom ROM you can shoehorn on there. :)

    [ROM]KaosFroyo V35 [09/17] [FROYO] - xda-developers

    Good luck!
     
  4. uEih

    uEih New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.. the thing is i don't want a rom, i wanted the stock 2.1. Anyways the link you gave me helped.. i just looked up that kernel that was used in the rom and installed it and it works but now i accidently used a mhz too high so the phone keeps freezing and restarting.. how do i fix this?
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Throttle back SetCPU a single setting and see if you still have the problem. If you do then it could be the voltage the kernel uses is too low.
     
  6. uEih

    uEih New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everytime it restarts then loads everything it freezes.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Do you have a backup you can restore? Because I think you'll have to do that at this point.
     
  8. uEih

    uEih New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No backup, unfortunately :/
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    That's not good. Rule one of rooting is make backups before modifying any major system files. I think this might be a recoverable error, though, without having to majorly mess with your system, so that's good. I hope it's recoverable without having to do major things, in any case. :)

    I'm honestly not too sure how to help at this point other than suggesting you go to the rescue squad section and ask if anyone there has any clue.
     
  10. uEih

    uEih New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well i just got the phone yesterday and i didn't do much do it yet so i just factory resetted it. That probably is best and the quickest way, let me try this kernel thing again and i'll let you know how it goes.
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    In that case no harm, no foul. :)

    Good luck!
     
  12. uEih

    uEih New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright so i tried again and this time seemed to work out better.. it's currently at around 720mhz i think.. i wanted to go to at least around 740-760.. Hopefully that'll work without freezing. Thanks for the help guys!! Coudln't have done it without you!
     
Search tags for this page

droid eris kernel

,

eris overclock kernel