[KERNEL] Kernel (deprimed_test) - Break It If You Can

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,227
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
I'm not 100% sure on this but should he also run this line before mounting any ext just in case it wasn't already mounted?
busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/jbd2.ko

I had that exact same error with link2sd on liquid rom and it was because that module wasn't loaded before ext4...I could be wrong since I still don't know a ton about terminal commands

the ORIGINAL Droid
supercharged modified liquid 3.1w/turbocharged 3g
Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
19.9 linpack score
1850 quadrant score
 

karri0n

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Try this instead:

Code:
busybox umount /sd-ext 
busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4 
mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2

Ok I did that, no joy. Here is the result:

Code:
 # busybox umount /sd-ext
umount: can't umount /sd-ext: Invalid argument
# busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4
insmod: can't insert '/system/lib/modules/ext4': Cannot allocate memory
# mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /data/sdext2 failed: No such device


I tried again after entering the command metalspring posted amd got the same result.
 
Last edited:

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,227
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
Ok I did that, no joy. Here is the result:

Code:
 # busybox umount /sd-ext
umount: can't umount /sd-ext: Invalid argument
# busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4
insmod: can't insert '/system/lib/modules/ext4': Cannot allocate memory
# mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /data/sdext2 failed: No such device
[Code][/QUOTE]
 
Did you try what I said too? 

supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
19.8 linpack score
1856 quadrant score
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
70
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Ok I did that, no joy. Here is the result:

Code:
 # busybox umount /sd-ext
umount: can't umount /sd-ext: Invalid argument
# busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4
insmod: can't insert '/system/lib/modules/ext4': Cannot allocate memory
# mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /data/sdext2 failed: No such device


I tried again after entering the command metalspring posted amd got the same result.

Try this:

Code:
busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4.ko
mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2

What is the output of this in a terminal:

Code:
ls /dev/block | grep mmcblk0
 

karri0n

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Try this:

Code:
busybox insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4.ko
mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2

What is the output of this in a terminal:

Code:
ls /dev/block | grep mmcblk0

insmod gave me
Code:
insmod: can't insert '/system/lib/modules/ext4.ko': Cannot allocate memory
and grep listed
Code:
mmcblk0
mmcblk0p1
mmcblk0p2
mmcblk0p3

additional info: "print" command when running parted on my sd outputs:


Code:
 (parted) print
print
Model: SD SA16G (sd/mmc)
Disk /dev/block/mmcblk0: 16.0GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system     Flags
 1      512B    15.4GB  15.4GB  primary  fat32           lba
 2      15.4GB  15.9GB  512MB   primary  ext4
 3      15.9GB  16.0GB  128MB   primary  linux-swap(v1)
 
Last edited:

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,227
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
How about simply changing or reinstalling busybox? Afterall its only cyanogenmod and probably doesn't have a really custom busybox so any one around that version should work fine?

supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
19.8 linpack score
1856 quadrant score
 

karri0n

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
How about simply changing or reinstalling busybox? Afterall its only cyanogenmod and probably doesn't have a really custom busybox so any one around that version should work fine?

supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
19.8 linpack score
1856 quadrant score

It started with cyanogen busybox which was v 1.19 some kind of custom build - I put 1.18.2 on when I started seeing issues because I suspected busybox. I will try another version though.
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
70
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Actually CM7 does use a custom busybox revision.

Try this:

Code:
mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
mount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
busybox mount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2

Lets try to mount the second partition as ext3.
 

karri0n

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Actually CM7 does use a custom busybox revision.

Try this:

Code:
mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
mount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
busybox mount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2

Lets try to mount the second partition as ext3.

all three commands came back with
Code:
mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /data/sdext2 failed: Invalid argument

as an aside, I've just now found that titanium backup FC's as soon as it's opened, and market FC's as soon as a download is attempted.

It's looking more and more like I'll be restoring a nandroid soon.... REALLY don't want to have to do that but this is day 5 and I need my device to be functional. If it comes down to the partition being shot somehow, then a nandroid restore won't even fix it, and I'm going to flip out. My last nandroid is already link2SD and I'm not going back farther than that point.
 
Last edited:
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
70
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Do you have a /data/sdext2 directory? Do you have a linux machine? The only thing I can think of is your second sd partition is not formatted properly.

The reason I ask if you have a linux machine is to see if your ext4 partition will properly mount on a linux machine.

Are the mount commands being ran as root?
 

karri0n

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
I do not have a linux machine unfortunately. This partition has been working for about 4 months, with an issue maybe once every 10 reboots where the partition did not mount properly, and a reboot would fix.

All commands are being run as root.

Holy crow - /data/sdext2 does exist, and in it is a dalvik-cache dir
 
Last edited:
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
70
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Could you verify that your /data/sdext folder exists?
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
70
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Ok. My final suggestion is pull the busybox binary from a current CM nightly and replace the version your currently using, if this does not repair your issue perhaps you should talk with zepp as after running the supercharge script your problems began.
 

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,227
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
Maybe changing busybox in the first place messed it up...you can check the ext4 filesystem with a partition program on a regular computer...
MiniTool Partition Wizard

supercharged modified liquid 3.0 w/turbocharged 3g
Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
19.8 linpack score
1856 quadrant score
 
Top