Kernel allowing AP mode for Wireless Tether?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Coolsaber57, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy,

    You've been making Kernels for a while, and they're awesome! I wanted to post this up there to see if it's even possible to include this into your kernels, or if it's too specific to the HTC incredible.

    This guy enabled AP mode for his stock HTC Incredible Kernel. I wonder if you could port the code over into your kernel?

    SUCCESS! Wireless tether in AP Mode (NOT ad-hoc) + WPA2 Encryption - xda-developers
     
  2. ck42
    Offline

    ck42 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was just doing searches for this exact topic. Also been running Chevy's ROMs for a while now.

    So, I'm wondering the same thing here. Having trouble getting a couple of devices to actually pass data (according to the tether app, they DO connect but that's as far as things ever go). The obvious fix is to use the tether in infrastructure mode instead of IBSS.
     
  3. MrC1122
    Offline

    MrC1122 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    maybe it's just me...but doesn't having wifi enabled kinda defeat the purpose of ap mode?
     
  4. ck42
    Offline

    ck42 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having wifi on (Droid acting as a wifi client) means that you are not wanting to act as an AP in order to provide service to others. Maybe you've just misinterpreted the desire to have AP tethering.

    If you want to allow others to connect to your Droid using wifi, it would typically mean that you are wanting to share your 3G connection with those wifi devices that would otherwise not have Internet access.
     
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    I did look into this - what the dev is enabling is specific to a broadcom wifi chip that we do not have on our droids :( Can't seem to find anything similar
     
  6. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was afraid of that. :(
     
  7. ck42
    Offline

    ck42 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow....that's going to be a major bummer if we cannot ever get real infrastructure mode tethering to work.
     
  8. reistar
    Offline

    reistar New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blame TI. They haven't released a firmware that enables AP mode. Check the N900 that has the same WL1271 chip. They don't have AP mode either.

    This does suck as all the newer phones have it. :(((
     
  9. MrC1122
    Offline

    MrC1122 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    not entirely true...you can use wifi, (wireless tethering) and not share...simply use encryption, i do it all the time...or am i still missing something here?
     
  10. RemyL75
    Offline

    RemyL75 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CHicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +17
    Basically, we want to use our Droids as wifi hotspots for other devices (other phones, laptops, netbooks, game systems, etc). In most of these cases, we can't because the other devices (especially Android-based devices) cannot see ad-hoc networks.
     
  11. MrC1122
    Offline

    MrC1122 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    gotcha...guess i was missing something =}
     
  12. Boofster
    Offline

    Boofster Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea this totally sucks. I had no idea the Ad-hoc mode was the issue.
    We've tried a few Android tablets and they don't even see the AP.
    The iPad and regular laptops work fine.
     
  13. RemyL75
    Offline

    RemyL75 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CHicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +17
    I was hoping that Froyo would fix the issue, but that particular feature will prob be locked down.
     
Search tags for this page

android master mode

,
android tether mode master
,

android wifi master mode

,
android wifi tether ap mode
,

android wireless tether ap mode

,
galaxy s2 ap mode wifi