1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Keep my unlimited Data on one line and use upgrade on another? Is it possible

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by thrgk, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. thrgk
    Offline

    thrgk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, so I have 4 lines on my vzw acct, 2 have unlimited data for smartphones grandfathered in, 1 is a vzw mobile broadband 5gb/month card, and 1 is a regular phone. The regular phone line is able to upgrade now at a discount price. If i buy a smartphone at a discounted price, with the data and stuff could i think somehow switch the new phone to my unlimted line and keep my unlimited data plan? Or is it not possible? I just wanted to make sure if it is possible that I would keep my unlimited data and how to go about it.

    Thanks so much!
  2. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    488
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
  3. vannDROID
    Offline

    vannDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was told that Verizon no loner offers unlimited data. When you upgrade you must pay retail for the device to keep unlimited data. The "grandfathered in" clause no longer applies once you upgrade devices and you now fall into a tiered plan. It was from sources on this forum and once in the store the clerks confirmed it also.
  4. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    488
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    You will not be able to keep unlimited data on a smartphone line that you are currently using..That is correct..If you take a subsidized price you lose the unlimited...

    BUT if you are on a family plan and have a non smart phone (flip or non data phone) you can add a smartphone with tiered data...activate then place the dumb phone back and use the new smartphone on your current unlimited line...
  5. thrgk
    Offline

    thrgk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes that is the plan, buy for the cheaper price, then once active, reactivate the dumb phone and use the new smartphone on my unlimited line. Now can i do this through amazon the ordering of the phone or only verizonwireless.com or in store? amazon is cheaper and in stock, so if i could use them i would but i wasnt sure.
  6. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    488
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I would double check.. I could be wrong I believe Amazon makes you keep it on line for 181 days.. Maybe I'm mistaken with another one.. I'm on the go now so further research is needed for sure..

    Noted 2x~4 beta
  7. MegatronJE
    Offline

    MegatronJE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when ever you upgrade you lose unlimted last year i ugraded to a driod 4 and they told me i had to change plans so i did but i kept my driod 4 for 8 months and went back to my driod 2 i asked to be switched back to my unlimted plan because i changed back to the phone i started with they said no because of the contract so i am back where i was a year ago with no unlimted data plan and the driod 4 went to the trash can along with my 200 dollers
  8. TheOldFart
    Offline

    TheOldFart New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York State
    I asked about this a few months ago, as I have a smartphone with unlimited and my wife has a basic phone. I could upgrade to a new smartphone on her line and then transfer it to my line. However, her line would now become a smartphone line with a $30 data plan. Even if she wanted to use her basic phone, we would still pay $30/month for the data plan on her line, since that is the line that the smartphone was bought on. Any line that a subsidized smartphone is bought on becomes a smartphone line for at least the 24 months of the contract.
  9. Dalvik_Cache
    Offline

    Dalvik_Cache Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central US
    You only have to maintain the data package for as long as the smart phone is on the line. What most people do is upgrade the "dumb" phone line, then once its activated do an ESN change to the line with the unlimited data. Then you can drop the data package on the upgraded line. Make sense? :)
  10. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,612
    Likes Received:
    493
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yup its possible and Mandy knows what she's talking about. I just upgraded the other day by activating on another line then transfering the phone to my line to keep my unlimited data

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
  11. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    maybe im wrong but i though all you had to do after you activated the new phone on the dummy line is, put the sim in it from the unlimited line.
    i dont understand what you mean by "an esn change". i move my sim between several devices all the time, its really no different than that.

    thanks :)
  12. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    You have to go on your account online and switch esn #, switching sim cards is a att thing and doesnt work on vzw, or you can call vzw and they will do it for you, they may charge for this. Esn # is like the serial number for your phone, hope this helps, I've done this more time then I can count

    sent from a note yee
  13. Dalvik_Cache
    Offline

    Dalvik_Cache Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central US
    ESN = electronic serial number. To be more accurate LTE devices use an IMEI.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2
  14. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Thanks mandy:)

    sent from a note yee
  15. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I gave my gnex to a friend a few months ago when he broke his, so I called him just now to ask about this. He said, he just popped in his sim and that's it. Been working fine on his account ever since.
    Sent From My RMHD
  16. Dalvik_Cache
    Offline

    Dalvik_Cache Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central US
    Alright, now that I am on a laptop rather than a phone I will do my best to explain better. First lets make the differentiation between CDMA and LTE. LTE is not CDMA, which is what Verizon is traditionally. LTE is much more like GSM, which is why it uses a SIM card. So, lets talk LTE first. Basically each SIM card has an ICCID (the SIM card number), and the phone has an IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identifier). The IMEI was adopted due to the fact that there was a limit to the number of unique ESN's that can exist. Now then, your IMEI is hard coded to the device, your ICCID is specific to the SIM. The VZW network, billing system, AAA, etc., all use a combination of the two that get hashed into a unique ID. The billing system itself typically relies heavily on the ICCID and will typically automatically re-hash to a new unique ID when adding a new IMEI. So, on a LTE device you can TYPICALLY simply switch the SIM to another LTE device, and it should work fine. There are several conditions that can cause it to not work automatically, including some older LTE devices, manual account locks, etc. Additionally, there are a lot of systems the new unique ID have to be pushed to, so it doesn't always make it. So, don't be totally surprised if it doesn't work out. Simply call tech support and they can help. Probably the most common cause of a failed switch over is the old device being still powered on. Make sure you turn off the old phone before you power up the new one, with the old SIM. Hope this helps!
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 7, 2013
  17. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Speechless is all I can say. :thumbup: (proud) :D If that's her best, I'd love to see her worst! ;)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  18. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    thanks for the explanation, i wasnt really confused, although i didnt know all that technical information.
    the only point i was trying to make is that, some times you can pop in the sim and go. not all applications require you to call verizon or add the phone to your account online.

    maybe i just missed something down there that required this scenario to call and add the phone.
    if thats the case, i apologize for the confusion.
    i was merely trying to make all the possibilities known.

    thanks again ;)
  19. mountainbikermark
    Online

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Going from SIM using phone to SIM using phone works like you wrote. Going from a non SIM to a SIM or SIM to non SIM, which is what the op wants to do, requires the esn switch phone call described above. I ran into this when I tried switching my Incredible 1 and Rezound around. Had to call to activate the Inc, call back to activate the Rezound again. It's a long story as to why I needed to switch phones for a few hours.


    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
  20. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    thanks :)
Search tags for this page
how to keep unlimited data verizon
,

how to keep unlimited data verizon when upgrading

,
how to upgrade phone without losing unlimited data
,

how to upgrade verizon phone and keep unlimited data

,
how to upgrade verizon phone without loosing unlimited data
,

how to upgrade verizon phone without losing unlimited data

,
how to upgrade with verizon and keep unlimited data
,
if my other line has a upgrade butt is grandfathered clause in can i use that upgrade for my phone
,
note3 verizon non upgrade
,

upgrade verizon phone lose unlimited data

,
upgrade verizon phone without losing unlimited data
,
upgrades/esnswitch.the
,

verizon upgrade keep unlimited data

,

verizon upgrade phone without losing unlimited data

,
verizon wireless keep unlimited data