keep getting: email security settings in my exchange corp email

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by elucid, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. elucid

    elucid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose
    Ratings:
    +0
    If i redo the incoming server settings it works until i reboot. I didnt have this prob in UD 8:0 (only mentioning to help debug)
     
  2. donerico

    donerico Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here..
     
  3. brad r

    brad r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. It started with 4.7 and still persists in 4.8, but it is a little better because in 4.8 at least it doesn't ask me to give my exchange provider remote wipe privileges on my phone :O
     
  4. elucid

    elucid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone have a fix for this?
     
  5. Phreaker47

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    (never mind)
     
  6. jkhouw1

    jkhouw1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure at what point this was introduced, but i get it on the droid with 4.8, and just started getting it with a bone-stock nexus 1 after a "security" update patch was pushed out 3 days ago.

    I never got it with LFY on the droid, nor on the nexus 1 before that recent patch.


    Better than on the stock droid 2 where my co-worker was forced to enter a pin every few uses...
     
  7. brad r

    brad r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just in case Chevy or someone else wants to see what this looks like, here is a screenshot. If I tap on the notification, it goes away and nothing else happens. It comes back every once in awhile, just enough to be annoying.

    http://i.imgur.com/ctNdo.jpg

    It used to take me into a dialog that asked me to give my exchange provider permission to wipe my phone remotely, but that was in 4.7. My exchange account also didn't work in 4.7, but at least it works in 4.8.
     
  8. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
  9. brad r

    brad r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so far, so good. thanks!!
     
  10. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    I also want to know if you see any negative impacts of the change I have made - that is important. If none - then I will build it into 4.9. Does anyone think this should be an option, or just completely disabled?
     
  11. brad r

    brad r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't seen any negative impact, but the issue did come back again. It happens a couple times whenever I reboot my phone.
     
  12. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    OK thx - will take another look at the code
     
  13. elucid

    elucid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for looking into this Chevy! I tried out the fix and am still seeing the issue as well. I'll help test anything you would like us to try.
     
  14. ctp1007

    ctp1007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having same issue also with the original and the updated one.
     
  15. Glueeater

    Glueeater Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get this error with Cyanogenmod as well…I might push this apk later. Doesn't bother me all that much though.
     
Search tags for this page
android echange email keeps askinh about security update
,
android exchange 2010 requires security settings update
,
android update security settings to use account
,
droid corp email security settings update
,
droid email update security settings
,
how to disable the update security settings android email
,
keep getting emails about negative posts
,
samsung phone keeps asking to update security setting
,

update security settings to use account

,
where do i find the security settings on my droid 4