Keep apps from old phone from syncing to new S3

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by DroooiiidX, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. DroooiiidX

    DroooiiidX New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My s3 should be here tomorrow!!!!!

    I am wondering how I can avoid having all my apps sync from my old DX onto my new S3.

    I would like to have just my contacts sync, but even that isn't really important. If nothing synced at all that would be fine too.

    Anyone know how to prevent the apps from syncing?
     
  2. justdhutch

    justdhutch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uninstall any downloaded apps before activating the new phone. Easiest way.
     
  3. DroooiiidX

    DroooiiidX New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that really the only way? I have been searching for quite a while but have yet to come it with an answer.

    Removing 2 years worth of downloaded apps one at a time is going to SUCK!:mad:
     
  4. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Try unchecking the backup and restore options in privacy settings before activating and signing into your Google account.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  5. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    this is actually pretty simple... once you find it... till then.. it's really irritating... especially when you plan on restoring with an app like my back up pro...(ya... very irritating...haha)

    but when you go threw the setup... after you connect your phone to your gmail account... it'll ask you if you'd like to restore applications... just uncheck that
     
  6. DroooiiidX

    DroooiiidX New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What a relief. :hail:

    Thank you so much. I thought I was going to have to remove all my downloaded applications.

    Is this is the case 100% of the time (ie with every android phone type)?
     
  7. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've seen it on my x(on froyo, gb and ics) it's like in my gnex... Seen it on an LG... fascinate...

    So I can't say for certain... but yes I believe so
     
  8. Jungle King 76

    Jungle King 76 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Ratings:
    +13
    Nemo is correct. It is the same for all. During set up, there are two options, Kerri thus phone backed up (this remembers all apps you install, and restore with google account (this will download all apps you last had installed).

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk 2
     
  9. CoolAndroid

    CoolAndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. DroooiiidX

    DroooiiidX New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually I want to NOT keep the old apps.

    Nemo, should I enter my email address at the initial set up or should I skip that and enter it later? It seems like I read somewhere that you needed to skip it initially so it would give the option to not sync apps?
     
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    In settings, privacy, there is an option for automatic restore. Uncheck that and your previous apps will not automatically reinstall.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
     
  12. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Threads merged and kept in the S3 general discussion section:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  13. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    I don't see why you'd need to... you can just login initially.. then when it asks to restore just uncheck the box
     
Search tags for this page
android apps sync new phone
,
how to get aps off old phone
,
how to sync apps from old phone to new phone
,

how to sync apps on samsung galaxy s3

,
how to sync apps to new android phone
,

how to sync apps to samsung galaxy s3

,
new android device stop downloading old apps sync
,

samsung galaxy s3 sync apps

,
sync android apps to new phone
,
syncing apps from old phone to new