K9 App

dobe

Reaction score
I have an email account with Frontiernet. It uses SMPT for outgoing mail and PoP3 for imcoming mail. They don't use SSL. It's powered by Yahoo -- whatever that means.

I'm new to smart phones so all of this is confusing to me. I've heard K9 is a much better email program than the program that comes with the Droid X. If I download the K9 app can I set-up my Frontier account within that program?

Most importantly will it push my home email to my phone? If so how long does the push to my phone take once the email hits my home computer? Thanks for your help.

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
I no longer use K-9, but I did you it for about 6-8 months.

You can setup your account in K-9. You will need to know the ports that your email provider uses. I'm sure you can find that info on their website or do a google.

With K-9, you set it up to poll the email account on any frequency you select (every 1 min, 3 min, 15 min, etc.). Emails will pushed to your phone when they are found.

I'm now using the native Gmail app for my Gmail and my pop3 email accounts. From the Google Gmail webpage you can setup your pop3 account to be polled by Google. The polling frequency is based on the account's activity (more emails = more frequent polling). From the accounts that I have programed this way, it seems that active accounts get polled about once per minute and inactive accounts get polled about oncer every 5 minutes. Emails are then immediately sent to the phone. BTW, this seems to save a lot of battery power because it eliminates the polling from your phone.

Good luck.

OP
D

dobe

Reaction score
I no longer use K-9, but I did you it for about 6-8 months.

You can setup your account in K-9. You will need to know the ports that your email provider uses. I'm sure you can find that info on their website or do a google.