just wanting to know..

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Faintestidea, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    I've had a smartphone for a little while now and I personally don't have a use to root & rom a phone. Its stock and works just fine!
    You only want to do this if you want to dig into the system and start modifying things on it. Lol. Give it time, play with the phone, download the DroidForums App, and read all about what your phone can and can't do there. I have a blast on this site!
    It Woulda been me and a stupidphone if it weren't for everything I've learned on this forum from these guys! Lol
    Wait till your totally comfortable with the phone before you start trying to mod it and do alot of reading on these threads :) Have fun with it! I love my phone just the way it is!!!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  2. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    It depends on what was your last phone. If you're used to Android then you won't have too much to learn, otherwise you'll need to know simply how the phone works to do what you want it to. Like Task Killer apps, the Android O/S doesn't work like Windows in terms of memory, so it's not necessary to kill an app (unless it's a runaway) just because you think it's going to make the phone go faster.

    Some problems are solved by changing a setting (like why you can only download apps from the Play Store via WiFi), others may require an app other than stock. For example, the free app QuickPic is much better (IMHO) than the stock picture gallery. There are MANY threads on apps so I don't want to skew this thread in that direction.

    Don't worry, any question you have will probably get lots of answers. And remember, this is YOUR phone, so not everything will be ideal for you. Just look at the other threads in order to see what people are talking about.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  3. add119

    add119 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Im from Nyc now living in LA!!
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    To many look at my signature.
    Actually agree with aff9. Overclock, kernal sometime messes with stablity it happen with droid 1 after 1 ghz i felt like the phone wasnt faster then 1.1 or 1.25 ghz it said to calm to running. From 600 mhz to 1,000 mhz it did make a different. But , beyond it was as the 1,100 mhz was their or just trick number.

    Stablity is important had issue with overclock kernal with galaxy s line and nexus s .

    Rom now that different story.. I like asop roms, i just dislike cyanogenmod roms and anyone that put cm build on their roms.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  4. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    :) yea! What aaf709 said!!! Lol

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  5. felixtibs

    felixtibs New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    They stopped carrying it atty my local stores...but really its just a bigger, older, razor.
     
  6. add119

    add119 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Im from Nyc now living in LA!!
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    To many look at my signature.
    That why it good to live in city.
     
  7. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    Your almost exactly right! Lol. The Razr's a slightly tweeked Bionic!!! And its not bigger, same size. Well the non Maxx is thinner. And its only 2 months older geeesh rofl :p

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  8. add119

    add119 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Im from Nyc now living in LA!!
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    To many look at my signature.
    If ya want to know the specs of droid 3 is the same as bionic with expection of ram and screen size 4 vs 4.3 . 512 vs 1 gb.

    Droid razr have super amoled display. I dont think it +
    Droid razr overclock 200 mhz faster and different design and thinner. Beside that, it basicly the same as bionic.

    Droid razr max is basicly the same droid razr just battery is bigger mah.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
  9. Faintestidea

    Faintestidea Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go to wirefly.com like I did. Only 10 bucks there. Mmmine should be here in next 2 days
     
  10. Faintestidea

    Faintestidea Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is android 2.2 and gb so different from each other?
     
  11. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
  12. Faintestidea

    Faintestidea Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok, here's another one. I know the bionic can record in 1080p I believe. Does that mean I can watch youtube in 1080 or does it not change a thing?
     
  13. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    The Bionics screen resolution is 540x960. Kind of like a 3/4's of an HD ! Lol . Almost 720p HD and far off from 1080p HD. HD screens are just now coming on newer phones.
    The Cameras chipset allows you to record digitally in 1080p and using the HDMI cable you can hook it up to any HD capable device like a TV and see it in 1080p. Or like on my TV, its 720p.
    Not positive, but I believe Youtube and the like you will see it in a 360 or 480 format!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  14. Faintestidea

    Faintestidea Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    My bionic finally came in! Yay!! Lol
     
  15. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    Yeaaaaa!! ;) ya gonna love it!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums