Just upgraded to X2 from D1

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by SPG900NY, May 26, 2011.

  1. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    The screens.....like Amoled vs. LCD...is gonna be strictly a matter of opinion.

    I hate this....cuz the LCD vs. Amoled debates have all died down, gone away....lol
     
  2. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I totally agree. When you look at a webpage, even with a smaller screen on the D1, I could make out the itty bitty text. Now, text that is big enough to read comfortably is still chunky. It really goes to show how the D1 will always be one of the best smartphones ever. Pete Alfonso, just got 2.3.4 to run on it, inclusive of video chat (without the D1's picture of course).

    Still love the phone, though. It really flys!
     
  3. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think its a rendering thing also. Updates might help. There are games that don;t like the qHD yet, either.
     
  4. illmatic636

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2
    AnandTech - The Motorola Atrix 4G Preview


    Either way, I will be upgrading to Droid Bionic when released.
    I doubt that the screen on my OG droid is better than QHD, but I was hoping that someone would just blast me with reasons why its not.
     
  5. SPG900NY

    SPG900NY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    The reviews on the PenTile screens seem to have generated a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth.

    When I first looked at the X2, my eyes were impressed. Greatly. Let me be clear. I LOVED my D1. However, the X2 just seems much sharper and clearer to me.

    And if this PenTile technology means I get better battery life as well?

    I'm all for it.

    I'm not going to get caught up in the specs or reviews about this display's drawbacks. The screen looks beautiful to me, and I'd take it over the D1's screen any day of the week.

    That, however, is just my opinion. And there's a lot of things that are annoying me about the X2 that I'm not used to. The screen just ain't one of them.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
  6. SPG900NY

    SPG900NY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing I did notice is that when I wiped my D1 so my wife could use it, and I went back to 2.1 from Peter Alfonso's Gingerbread ROM, the default brightness seems to be MUCH higher, and the screen looked much better. I have a feeling that Peter (or maybe Gingerbread) reduces the screen brightness to save battery life.

    Perhaps I had just gotten used to a dimmed display on my D1.
     
  7. illmatic636

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2
    I hear ya, I'm really torn about waiting for the next Moto Device, or taking the DX2 and letting Verizon iron out the 4G network issues.

    I really have no clue.
     
  8. travisn000

    travisn000 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    ..the original DX was my first and only Droid.. I find the top center power button very convienient; no matter which hand the device is in I can slide my index finger to the top of the device and turn the screen on or off. I find this much better than having a screen-timout that always kicks in at the wrong time.

    I guess to each his own.. :)
     
  9. SPG900NY

    SPG900NY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotcha.

    I probably would have still held off, but we had a couple upgrades available on our family account and I figured to replace my wife's broken phone was going to be $200 on eBay anyway. She liked the D1, so I gave her mine and took an upgrade.

    Wasn't that I didn't like my D1 anymore.

    LTE is going to be another two years probably here on Long Island, so I figured hey, this is dual-core, I did like the idea of a bigger screen (though didn't fully realize how different it would be in my hand), so I jumped.

    Now that I have the phone, not sure I'd do it again. I'm sure I'll get used to it, but if we hadn't had a broken phone, I think I'd have waited. The D1 is just so hackable, there's so much dev stuff out there for it, and it was still speedy enough for everything I needed.
     
  10. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +303
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    I forgot about the power button move! I got my X back in January and I'm used to it now. But for quite a while I was pushing on the upper right! Kinda like going from my stick shift to an automatic car. I always push my leg out for the clutch thats not there!
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    You say potato, I say potato. ;-)
     
  12. eebvending

    eebvending Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Current Phone Model:
    LG V10
    I went from D1 to DX2. I'm impressed with how much snappier the DX2 is. I have no problem with the screen and I'm able to live with this version of Blur.

    The one issue I'm having is there are a couple of sites that with 4 different browsers set for Desktop, will only show the mobile site when on the D1 I got the regular site.

    Has anyone been able to get nfl.com to go to the regular site with any browser on the DX2? The other one I'm having a problem with is bengals.com.

    On nfl.com when following the link at the bottom to go to regular site I get a Page Not Found message. The Bengals mobile site doesn't even have a link for the regular site. Spare me all the jokes! LOL
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
Search tags for this page

droid x2 modem did not power up 3

,
droid x2 modem will not power up
,
modem did not power up
,

modem did not power up (3)

,
motorola milestone x2 modem did not power up
,
x2 could not start modem