Just saying Hi..

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by MattPHS2002, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my Droid Eris yesterday so I'm still getting used to it, so far I love it.
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Tons of info here, welcome to the forums! Android is a great operating system.
  3. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,058
    Likes Received:
    693
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Welcome aboard Matt.

    Great to have you here.
  4. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've seen that and I'm grateful as there is no actual manual.
  5. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Glad to have you! Welcome!
  6. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome aboard, Matt! Glad to have you with us! Here's the full user guide from Motorola:

    Full Motorola Droid User Guide

    And remember if you get stuck or need some help, don't be afraid to ask! There's no such thing as a stupid question around here. We all just asked it sooner than you did, that's all. Hope you enjoy your time here!

    :welcome:
  7. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What can I do to get a ringtone to show up in my list of ringtones?
  8. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    If you place a ringtone on your sd card, you can have it show up as a ringtone according to the system by placing it into folders like this...

    media>audio>ringtones

    For notifications...

    media>audio>notifications

    In other words, on your sd card, create a folder called media. Within the "media" folder, create one called audio. Within the "audio" folder, create one for ringtones and one for notifications.

    Then, when choosing notifications or ringtones, those sound clips will show up according to which file you put them in!
  9. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like Jonny has you all set. Let us know if you need anything more.
  10. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried that method, including turning the phone off and back on with no luck.
  11. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Are you sure that your media folder is in the ROOT of the sd card? Meaning it's not in any other folder? Also, not sure if capitalization matters, but my folders are named media, audio, notifications, ringtones.

    This works just fine for me. In fact, I was previously running Bugless Beast, and had ALL of the sound files from all versions of Android on my sd card (moved them there to conserve space) and had to "hide" them to avoid seeing duplicates.

    However, my main ringtone, text notification, and notification for bloo are ALL setup using the stock ringtone/notification picker and those sound files are in the folders just as I have listed them...

    If you'd just like to set a song/etc as a ringtone, and you can open it in the media player (music), press menu on the playing screen and select "Use as Ringtone. That will set it as a ringtone, and it can then be used for individuals and etc...

    Hope that helps a little bit...?
  12. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm fairly certain that is the case, I'll try the capitalization thing though as sometimes it's the simplest things that throw a wrench into the works. Thanks for the workaround though.
  13. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm, the Eris is a different little beast, but try this:

    No reason to get fancy.

    Use doubleTwist (many recommend this app anyway) to put mp3's onto your Eris.

    Then use RingDroid (also comes highly recommended) to convert it to a notifcation.

    If you're using Handcent SMS, it allows you to set a custom notifcation.

    Inside of your SMS program (at least in Handcent) you can set an individual notifcation.

    Use the same file structure that Jonny gave you originally and see if it works any better for you.
  14. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    No problem! That's how I set songs as ringtones before someone enlightened me on the folders in the sd card.

    If that doesn't solve your problem, go Anne's route. Eris is still running less than 2.0, isn't it? Maybe that's a new feature...I didn't have 2.0 on my G1 back in the day, but I always used the workaround, so I'm not sure if that's the issue....
  15. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe Eris is still running like 1.5, I've heard rumors that 2.x will get pushed by the end of the quarter, but that was from the sales rep so..... For now I'll use the workaround.
  16. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Haha! Maybe HTC will do a better job and maybe VZW will have their act together for you folks, but we heard that promise a few times before we got 2.1...

    In any case, the workaround I supplied for you will also allow you to use a song as an alarm clock notification. I just remembered that. When you go to select ringtone for the alarm, I believe it's in there. That's how it worked on my G1, anyway, and I'm pretty sure it was running 1.5 or less the last time I could get it to turn on...
  17. MattPHS2002
    Offline

    MattPHS2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I put little faith in the promises of sales reps, heck I'm still waiting for a phone call about a patch for my Enve that I got rid of about 2 years ago.
  18. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Lol! I won't get into the half hour+ discussion I had on the phone with customer service in which the lady told me all about her email and facebook (I was getting an odd text message and later found out it was because of the e-mail program I had on my LG Triton previously) and ended up not helping me at all and then asking me if there was anything else she could help with...:icon_evil:

    :D