Just rooted

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cincinnati guy, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. cincinnati guy

    cincinnati guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted my verizon facinate. I want to change the start up page, and the home page. I hear I can change the os of the phone to. How do I download these? Is it done from my phone or my desktop computer? What is a rom? Id like to learn all this lingo. Thanks
     
  2. cincinnati guy

    cincinnati guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone? Sorry I'm new to this. Ive rooted and downloaded rom manager and titanium backup.
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If I understand correctly you want to change the boot animation? Then install a custom rom. Is that correct?

    If so what rom do you want to install?
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  5. cincinnati guy

    cincinnati guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im really not sure what ROM I want.

    I tried to download a rom via ROM manager, it downloads, I check both things after it downloads then it asks to reboot, I click yes, when it reboots I get this screen..

    Android System Recovery
    System recovery utils
    For BML

    REBOOT
    APPLY SDCARD: UPDATE.ZIP
    WIPE CACHE



    Then at the bottom I get this...


    Install From package
    finding update package
    opening update package
    verifying update package

    E: Failed to verify whole signature file
    E: signature verification failed
    Installation aborted

    What am I suppose to be doing here?
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm not the best on RM. It appears that your download was incomplete or corrupt. What rom did you download? It must be compatible with your phone.

    I suggest that you use wifi to download the rom. Once it completed scroll the notification bar down and tap. This will start the process.

    You should be asked to create a backup and wipe. You need to do both. I suggest that you make a backup before you download the rom and confirm that you are successful. If not, then do NOT wipe data and cache.
     
  7. cincinnati guy

    cincinnati guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need to download anything else before downloading a rom? Ive tried a few different and they all say the same thing. Ive tried superclean sonofskywalker...
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you successfully install ClockWorkMod first?
     
  9. cincinnati guy

    cincinnati guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    on the ROM manager under flash clockwork recovery it says current recovery: Clockworkmod 3.0.0.8

    and latest recovery Clockworkmod 3.0.0.8
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    As I mentioned I'm not the best on RM/CW. So you did tap the install/flash ClockWork recovery tab in RM and it indicated that you were successful?

    If so, then make a backup. It will be stored in the ClockWorkMod file on your SD card. Make sure that the file you created is there. If so you have a solid recovery/backup.